![]() |
|
|
|||
I am interested in the turn out of this play. How did she get on the floor? was she holding the ball, dribbling when she went down or did she catch the ball on her knees? I would have called travel as soon as her knees hit the floor if she went down holding the ball. If she went down dribbling then she can continue to dribble but if she stops without getting up then she either has to shoot or pass, when her foot hits the floor she attempts to get up and I would call that a travel, That's just my opinion and I am only a second year ref.If she caught it while on her knees she can pass, shoot or call a time out or start a dribble and get up. that's my interpretation of the rules.
|
|
|||
Rule: 4-44-5
ART. 5 Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows: A player holding the ball: a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot. b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand. 4.44.5 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling when he/she: (a) drops to a position with a knee on the floor and then ends the dribble; or (b) drops one knee to the floor and then stands again while continuing the dribble. RULING: The action in both (a) and (b) is legal. However, if A1 touches a knee to the floor while holding the ball, it would be traveling as A1 has touched the floor with something other than a hand or foot. 4.44.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling *violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position. Sounds like a travel to me..
__________________
BigT "The rookie" |
|
|||
Quote:
This does not address a player on the floor, on both knees, and changing one leg to a foot contact rather than knee contact with the floor. Some see that movement/change of position as an attempt to stand, and others do not see it as such. I don't understand that particular Case play as relevant to the second scenario.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Criminal Intent ...
If this player does anything other than start a dribble, pass, shoot, or request a timeout, anything other than just staying there, then I'm probably calling a travel. Once that knee comes off the floor, even if the player's intent is just to get a little more comfortable, not an attempt to get up, then I'm probably calling a travel. If it looks like an attempt to get up, then, in my mind, it's an attempt to get up. I'm not a mind reader.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
How would one stand?
Please explain how one would stand from a position with two knees on the ground.
Probably by taking one leg, and moving to a position where one foot is on the floor, while the other leg is still in a position with a knee on the ground. Try it, get down with two knees on the ground and try to stand. This was an attempt to get up, however subtle, it was an attempt to get up. You had a travel. |
|
|||
4.44.5 SITUATION D:
A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling *violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position. This subject is an example of the FED setting a trap, and those who read only part of it, equating two different actions, in the verbiage they use: Note that the SITUATION refers to a player with one knee on the floor, and uses the phrase "assume a standing position." Then, in the RULING, they change the phrasiology from "assume a standing position" to "attempts to stand." Not only is the first phrase - "assume a standing position" - commonly understood to mean "A position in which a person is erect, on both feet" - (Reference - Webster On-line Dictionary) - but the SITUATION stated dictates that from one knee, to "attempt to stand" inherently refers to standing on both feet. Common understanding is that whether a person is on two knees or one, they are kneeling, not standing -(Reference - Webster On-line Dictionary). Thus, to go from a kneeling position on two knees, to a kneeling position on one knee, one is still kneeling, and not standing, and has not made an "attempt to stand."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() Last edited by Rob1968; Sat Dec 28, 2013 at 11:27am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Please help! Is this a travel? | newbie94 | Basketball | 14 | Tue Dec 11, 2012 01:51pm |
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA | jump stop | Basketball | 52 | Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm |
Travel | lds7199 | Basketball | 16 | Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:10pm |
Travel or not? | SamIAm | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jan 07, 2005 04:13pm |
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 49 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm |