The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 03:55pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
By rule a defender cannot turn their shoulder into a ball-handler and still be legal.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
I'm very confused by the shoulder comments. I don't see B1 turning the shoulder into the offense; I see B1 turning the shoulder in front of A1 and that's where the contact is.

I think the call (no matter which you have) would be the same whether B1 turns or not (in this play).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 04:20pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
In the moment I don't have a problem with either call. Both can be easily justified by rule and it would depend on the officials interpretation of the guarding players LGP and positioning on the court. From the angle we have in the video it is made much harder to say for certain.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 04:21pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'm very confused by the shoulder comments. I don't see B1 turning the shoulder into the offense; I see B1 turning the shoulder in front of A1 and that's where the contact is.

I think the call (no matter which you have) would be the same whether B1 turns or not (in this play).
Turns her shoulder or turns sideways into A1, take your pick. It's what I initially saw in the 12-second full speed clip, and watching in slow motion hasn't changed my opinion. B1 turns into A1. She most definitely did not turn away to absorb contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 01:38pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'm very confused by the shoulder comments. I don't see B1 turning the shoulder into the offense; I see B1 turning the shoulder in front of A1 and that's where the contact is.

I think the call (no matter which you have) would be the same whether B1 turns or not (in this play).

+10,000 and fine Cuban cigar.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 04:54pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
By rule a defender cannot turn their shoulder into a ball-handler and still be legal.

!!!! Please tell me you did not write what I just read!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
This is such an easy charge, at worst a no call as the contact is rather weak. Sure the defender could of opened a bit more to the dribbler. One of the core fundamentals in FED is that a a player is entitled to their spot on the floor as long as they got there first and legally.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 05:34pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
This is such an easy block. The defender is sliding (slide stepping?) down the inside of the lane line. She turns her body and causes the contact with her shoulder and her feet are now over (right foot actually outside) the lane line. She doesn't get to move into the offensive player like that.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 06:14pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
This is such an easy block. The defender is sliding (slide stepping?) down the inside of the lane line. She turns her body and causes the contact with her shoulder and her feet are now over (right foot actually outside) the lane line. She doesn't get to move into the offensive player like that.

She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 06:51pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.
Yes she did move into the shooter. Was inside the lane and then wasn't. How is that not moving into the shooter and causing the contact?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
The defender never left the lane.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.
She moved into the offensive player. She was not retreating or moving sideways to maintain LGP at that point.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 18
The Real Question...

Either Camp Block or PC, the LGP question has to be answered.

If you believe block then you believe no LGP

If you believe PC then you believe LGP was obtained.

This discussion about shoulder contact being caused by defensive player and that is why it is a block is a terrible argument. In no way is she moving towards the offensive player, nor is she displacing the offensive player. You are not watching the same clip that is posted in this thread twice. Nor can you argue that by an rule or case play.

So if you believe it to be a block simply state she didn't have LGP and we would argue that if we were on the crew together. But to say that is an easy block call then you are lazily interpreting the rules and listening to the crowd.

It is a difficult call and we have a bad angle to get a real sense of what Lead saw.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:39pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
!!!! Please tell me you did not write what I just read!

MTD, Sr.
Yes I did. Since when can a defender turn their shoulder into an offensive player and still have LGP?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:52pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
!!!! Please tell me you did not write what I just read!

MTD, Sr.
There's nothing wrong with what he said. A defensive player is never allowed to turn into a offensive player.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke-Vermont Video Clip Request (Clip Added) The_Rookie Basketball 16 Mon Nov 25, 2013 02:40pm
Let the players decide.... Andy Softball 5 Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:16am
Need Help! Can't decide UKCATSFAN Baseball 11 Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:28pm
So What Did We Decide? Or Did We? refnrev Basketball 4 Sun Oct 15, 2006 09:22pm
Co-incidence? You decide... rainmaker Basketball 6 Mon May 30, 2005 06:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1