The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You Decide (Clip) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96802-you-decide-clip.html)

rockyroad Wed Dec 18, 2013 05:34pm

This is such an easy block. The defender is sliding (slide stepping?) down the inside of the lane line. She turns her body and causes the contact with her shoulder and her feet are now over (right foot actually outside) the lane line. She doesn't get to move into the offensive player like that.

OrStBballRef Wed Dec 18, 2013 06:07pm

Block

Easy block call...IMO

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 18, 2013 06:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 914973)
This is such an easy block. The defender is sliding (slide stepping?) down the inside of the lane line. She turns her body and causes the contact with her shoulder and her feet are now over (right foot actually outside) the lane line. She doesn't get to move into the offensive player like that.


She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.

rockyroad Wed Dec 18, 2013 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 914980)
She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.

Yes she did move into the shooter. Was inside the lane and then wasn't. How is that not moving into the shooter and causing the contact?

SNIPERBBB Wed Dec 18, 2013 07:24pm

The defender never left the lane.

rpirtle Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:02pm

I see R1's turning just before contact as simply protecting herself before the impact. That said...I am in the same camp as those who say R1 never attained LGP. It looks like a Block to me. Great discussion though...!!!

Raymond Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 914967)
:eek:!!!! Please tell me you did not write what I just read!

MTD, Sr.

Yes I did. Since when can a defender turn their shoulder into an offensive player and still have LGP?

Raymond Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 914980)
She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.

She moved into the offensive player. She was not retreating or moving sideways to maintain LGP at that point.

APG Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 914967)
:eek:!!!! Please tell me you did not write what I just read!

MTD, Sr.

There's nothing wrong with what he said. A defensive player is never allowed to turn into a offensive player.

SWKS Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:53pm

The Real Question...
 
Either Camp Block or PC, the LGP question has to be answered.

If you believe block then you believe no LGP

If you believe PC then you believe LGP was obtained.

This discussion about shoulder contact being caused by defensive player and that is why it is a block is a terrible argument. In no way is she moving towards the offensive player, nor is she displacing the offensive player. You are not watching the same clip that is posted in this thread twice. Nor can you argue that by an rule or case play.

So if you believe it to be a block simply state she didn't have LGP and we would argue that if we were on the crew together. But to say that is an easy block call then you are lazily interpreting the rules and listening to the crowd.

It is a difficult call and we have a bad angle to get a real sense of what Lead saw.

SWKS Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 915004)
There's nothing wrong with what he said. A defensive player is never allowed to turn into a defender.

Is that a typo? That wouldn't make sense, but a defensive player with LGP can turn into the offensive player to avoid imminent contact.:D

APG Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWKS (Post 915006)
Is that a typo? That wouldn't make sense, but a defensive player with LGP can turn into the offensive player to avoid imminent contact.:D

There's a difference between turning to absorb contact...and turning into a defender.

And typo? What typo? Never happened. ;)

just another ref Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWKS (Post 915005)

If you believe PC then you believe LGP was obtained.

It is possible to have a PC foul without a defender ever having LGP. You know that, right?

SWKS Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:10pm

What Typo!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 915008)
There's a difference between turning to absorb contact...and turning into a defender.

And typo? What typo? Never happened. ;)

Gotcha!! ;)

My question then is in that phrase "turning into offensive player" and that situation. When would that happen and how?

In the clip the defensive player is moving at an angle towards the lower block to cut off the offensive player (LGP aside). How does she initiate contact (turn into) and she is leaning backwards, while the offensive player is moving forward.

I would have easy block call even with LGP if the offensive player had her head and shoulders past the torso of the defender and I don't see that there.

SWKS Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 915011)
It is possible to have a PC foul without a defender ever having LGP. You know that, right?

Yes I know that, just wondering what the confusion or tick question might be coming? :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1