![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Man, I hear you about "almost knowing" a rule. I worked a couple low level games with a new official last season, and in the same game, he called 3 seconds on a multiple shot/rebound situation, a 3 seconds while the ball was in the backcourt, and when the offensive team was inbounding from underneath the basket, before the inbounder released the ball? You guessed it, 3 seconds. I cut him some slack since it was his first year, but tough to work with people who don't know the rules.
|
|
|||
|
Oh yes, I not only explained what the rule was, but also why there's no need to call it at all in a 20 point middle school game!! Ha, but you know, his problem at the time (he has since developed his game quite a bit) was that he struggled with situations more than rule interpretations. A 7th grader who is playing only because he is the only 6+ foot kid in the school that doesn't even know what the key is, is not gaining an advantage by having one foot in it on the weak side!
|
|
|||
|
Guess I almost know the rule too.
Didn't we recently have a discussion about this topic? I understand the officials is incorrect with his rational that an injury TO was taken, but I thought the player had to be ready by the end of the first timeout. Multiple TOs in a row are legal but for an injury etc. I thought they only had the one timeout to fix the situation.
|
|
|||
|
The Eyes Have It ... ...
Once you start the twenty-second replacement interval (it's not a timeout), it is then that the injured player has to sit out a tick.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
I'm a bit confused on this. If the player signaled the timeout and it was granted then why is this considered an injury timeout? Is there a rule/case reference?
If this had happened in one of my games (Not having read this thread), I would have granted the player timeout. When only 4 players returned, I would have asked the coach for his 5th player. Upon hearing that his 5th player was injured, I would have notified him of his option to either take a timeout or start the replacement interval. It sounds like this is wrong? |
|
|||
|
You'd have to ask the official that did all this. He didn't actually grant the timeout until the coach signaled it. The whole point here is that the situation was mishandled.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Knowing who is up to bat | youngump | Softball | 16 | Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:22pm |
| Coach not knowing the rule. | cmhjordan23 | Basketball | 29 | Mon Feb 14, 2011 01:37pm |
| Knowing when to stop | SWMOzebra | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:31pm |
| knowing the rules | just another ref | Basketball | 43 | Wed Dec 10, 2003 01:46pm |
| Knowing and Understanding Rules | PeteBooth | Baseball | 7 | Mon Dec 23, 2002 11:17pm |