The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 01:38pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
For want of a better solution, I would let the period end.
How could you let the period end? There was no reason the clock should have started.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 02:48pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
How could you let the period end? There was no reason the clock should have started.
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 03:17pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.
I don't see how that would be applied here. When the horn had sounded, the ball had yet to be touched. Therefore, the clock never should have started. I wouldn't ignore the horn sounding, and would treat it like an inadvertent whistle.

That rule is good for a situation in which the ball is inbounded in the backcourt, touched, and the official starts the 10-count. If the clock doesn't start, the official's count can be used to determine how much time should be placed on the clock.

But...again... in this situation, the clock should not have been started in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.
Another ref,

Horn went off BEFORE B1 grabbed ball.
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 04:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
5-10-1: The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer......


It says may, not must. A correction here would be counterproductive.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.
And you know that Team A didn't stop playing when the horn sounded?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 10:37pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
And you know that Team A didn't stop playing when the horn sounded?
In .3, I'm content with the way it shakes out, whether they stopped or not.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In .3, I'm content with the way it shakes out, whether they stopped or not.
It doesn't say how much time elapsed between the time the horn sounded and the time B recovered the ball. Taht would be the question. So .3 really has nothing to do with it.

I see no reason not to reset the clock and run it again, as it's allowed (and I believe) expected of us by rule.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2013, 11:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post

I see no reason not to reset the clock and run it again, as it's allowed (and I believe) expected of us by rule.
The reason, I think, is that this would give team A a second opportunity to throw a lob pass and score after they had already failed. I think this would fall under giving one team an advantage not intended by the rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 02, 2013, 12:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The reason, I think, is that this would give team A a second opportunity to throw a lob pass and score after they had already failed. I think this would fall under giving one team an advantage not intended by the rule.
I'm with Tony, if the time lapse was big enough, I'd grant a new throw in for A. If it was nearly simultaneous, I might consider ending the period.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 02, 2013, 12:06am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Since there are only .3 seconds left, that means a team can only score by tapping the ball into the goal... they can't catch and shoot it. So I understand allowing the game/quarter to end, even though the horn sounded before anybody on the court even touched the ball.

However, going strictly by the rule book, we should treat this as an interruption and re-do the thrown-in.

One big piece of information is missing... did Team A stop playing when the horn sounded, when they had a chance? If they did, then we have to re-do the throw-in. If they didn't, then go ahead and end the game/quarter.

Last edited by BryanV21; Mon Dec 02, 2013 at 12:10am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resume play tref Basketball 13 Mon Nov 15, 2010 05:54pm
Double Foul Situation - Resume Play Proceedure BearBoy Basketball 2 Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:49am
Resume Derrick Basketball 5 Fri Oct 13, 2006 06:52pm
Dead ball whistle to resume play dknick78 Basketball 19 Sat Nov 26, 2005 03:51pm
Whistle to resume play BigDave Basketball 20 Wed Jan 15, 2003 08:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1