The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   where/how to resume play.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96658-where-how-resume-play.html)

ronny mulkey Sun Dec 01, 2013 01:00pm

where/how to resume play....
 
Team A throw-in opposite table near division line.
.3 seconds remaining.
The inbounds pass hits backboard, then floor without touching any player AND horn sounds to end period.
After horn, Team B gathers rebound in lane area.

Obvious timing error. How/where do you resume play?

constable Sun Dec 01, 2013 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronny mulkey (Post 912395)
Team A throw-in opposite table near division line.
.3 seconds remaining.
The inbounds pass hits backboard, then floor without touching any player AND horn sounds to end period.
After horn, Team B gathers rebound in lane area.

Obvious timing error. How/where do you resume play?

original throw in spot, same team with .3 seconds back on the clock.

just another ref Sun Dec 01, 2013 01:31pm

For want of a better solution, I would let the period end.

BryanV21 Sun Dec 01, 2013 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronny mulkey (Post 912395)
Team A throw-in opposite table near division line.
.3 seconds remaining.
The inbounds pass hits backboard, then floor without touching any player AND horn sounds to end period.
After horn, Team B gathers rebound in lane area.

Obvious timing error. How/where do you resume play?

Sounds like a point of interruption situation.

1. Put .3 seconds on the clock, as clock never should have started since no player touched the ball.
2. Team A keeps possession, as horn sounded before Team B gained possession.
3. Throw-in will occur at the same place as previous throw-in, as there was no touch in bounds that would change this.

BryanV21 Sun Dec 01, 2013 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912401)
For want of a better solution, I would let the period end.

How could you let the period end? There was no reason the clock should have started.

just another ref Sun Dec 01, 2013 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 912403)
How could you let the period end? There was no reason the clock should have started.

5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.

BryanV21 Sun Dec 01, 2013 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912412)
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.

I don't see how that would be applied here. When the horn had sounded, the ball had yet to be touched. Therefore, the clock never should have started. I wouldn't ignore the horn sounding, and would treat it like an inadvertent whistle.

That rule is good for a situation in which the ball is inbounded in the backcourt, touched, and the official starts the 10-count. If the clock doesn't start, the official's count can be used to determine how much time should be placed on the clock.

But...again... in this situation, the clock should not have been started in the first place.

ronny mulkey Sun Dec 01, 2013 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912412)
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.

Another ref,

Horn went off BEFORE B1 grabbed ball.

just another ref Sun Dec 01, 2013 04:52pm

5-10-1: The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer......


It says may, not must. A correction here would be counterproductive.

deecee Sun Dec 01, 2013 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912401)
For want of a better solution, I would let the period end.

I agree with this sentiment. Giving a do-over in this specific instance sounds right.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912412)
5-10-2: If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly....................an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction.

After B grabbed the ball, I counted to .3........period over.

And you know that Team A didn't stop playing when the horn sounded?

just another ref Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 912455)
And you know that Team A didn't stop playing when the horn sounded?

In .3, I'm content with the way it shakes out, whether they stopped or not.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912456)
In .3, I'm content with the way it shakes out, whether they stopped or not.

It doesn't say how much time elapsed between the time the horn sounded and the time B recovered the ball. Taht would be the question. So .3 really has nothing to do with it.

I see no reason not to reset the clock and run it again, as it's allowed (and I believe) expected of us by rule.

just another ref Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 912461)

I see no reason not to reset the clock and run it again, as it's allowed (and I believe) expected of us by rule.

The reason, I think, is that this would give team A a second opportunity to throw a lob pass and score after they had already failed. I think this would fall under giving one team an advantage not intended by the rule.

Adam Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 912469)
The reason, I think, is that this would give team A a second opportunity to throw a lob pass and score after they had already failed. I think this would fall under giving one team an advantage not intended by the rule.

I'm with Tony, if the time lapse was big enough, I'd grant a new throw in for A. If it was nearly simultaneous, I might consider ending the period.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1