The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 12:56am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
AP posession

Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 01:18am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?
Your title....alternating possession possession?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 01:23am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?

Last edited by OKREF; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 01:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 02:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?
Correct. Throwin violation on A for not throwing it directly onto the court before going OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?
When does the arrow switch? 6-4-4 and 4-42-5

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?
I'm not sure I agree. Do you have a reference? (It's a convenient "shortcut" to remembering the most usual situations, but I don't think it's universal.)

This part is correct. Same references as above, plus 6-4-5
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:28am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When does the arrow switch? 6-4-4 and 4-42-5



I'm not sure I agree. Do you have a reference? (It's a convenient "shortcut" to remembering the most usual situations, but I don't think it's universal.)

This part is correct. Same references as above, plus 6-4-5

From our state director of officiating, thru the NFHS. We have been told this is the interpretation of the NFHS as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:48am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When does the arrow switch? 6-4-4 and 4-42-5



I'm not sure I agree. Do you have a reference? (It's a convenient "shortcut" to remembering the most usual situations, but I don't think it's universal.)

This part is correct. Same references as above, plus 6-4-5
Got this from the 2011-12 Rulebook.

2011-12 Rules changes
Several definitions were changed to reflect that team control now exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul penalties will be administered.

Not saying you're wrong, and I do understand what you're saying. Just know how we have been instructed to apply the rule.

Last edited by OKREF; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 11:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Got this from the 2011-12 Rulebook.

2011-12 Rules changes
Several definitions were changed to reflect that team control now exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul penalties will be administered.

Not saying you're wrong, and I do understand what you're saying. Just know how we have been instructed to apply the rule.
"Primarily" <> "only".

My guess is that the play(s) in this thread were not considered when someone decided to give additional guidance. Stil, "when in Rome..."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 12:39pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
"Primarily" <> "only".

My guess is that the play(s) in this thread were not considered when someone decided to give additional guidance. Stil, "when in Rome..."
I agree with this. They wanted to address fouls and created more confusion by doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
English language definitions 4-19-9

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?
No. This is a false double vowel.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2013, 01:19am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
No. This is a false double vowel.
Yea, I know.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2013, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Under the old rule:

(2010-11) 4.19.7C A1 has the ball for a throw-in. The pass deflects off
A2. As A2 and B2 attempt to retrieve the looose, I mean, loose throw-in pass A2 pushes B2 and is called for a foul. RULING: This is not a team control foul since team control has not been established. (and this would also be true for an AP throw-in) Under the old rule, if an IW occurred after the deflection instead of the foul I don't think there was any other choice but to go to the arrow. 7.5.3 Ruling c. describes an IW while a missed try is in flight but the principle is the same: if there is no team control when the ball becomes dead-go to the arrow. The next year when the TC rule on a throw-in was put in, it was explained that nothing else has changed. As OKREF cited: The change primarily affects how foul penalties will be administered. My guess as to why the word "primarily" was used was to remind that in certain situations at the start of the game or any OT, the new TC rule would also, obviously, establish "control" for the purpose of setting the arrow under the much older AP rule. IMO, I would go by 4-36-2b, POI: "Play shall be resumed by... a throw-in when the interruption occurred DURING this activity or if a team is entitled to such." If the throw-in has ended, I would go with the arrow. I'm not aware of anything under the old rule or exception in the new rule that says the throw-in team is entitled to the ball when an IW follows a deflected TI pass except through the AP procedure.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2013, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
IMO, I would go by 4-36-2b, POI: "Play shall be resumed by... a throw-in when the interruption occurred DURING this activity or if a team is entitled to such." If the throw-in has ended, I would go with the arrow. I'm not aware of anything under the old rule or exception in the new rule that says the throw-in team is entitled to the ball when an IW follows a deflected TI pass except through the AP procedure.
An IW ALWAYS goes to POI. You quoted part of it (b), why not also use (a) if it applies instead of using (c)?

Anyway, I think (hope) that all sides of this have been explained, and maybe we'll just have to A2D until / unless the FED issues a clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 01:22am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 01:26am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.
Yes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control on Throw In Bishopcolle Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1