The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Oct 27, 2013, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member

Free throw violation- shooter

I am new to the officiating world, I would appreciate your input. I have a question as to a legal attempt by the free throw shooter.

It has been my understanding that to be a legal attempt on the part of the free throw shooter, the feet must remain behind the free throw line, until the ball has made contact with the rim or went through the rim. I have another official telling me that as long as the feet are behind the free throw line prior to the ball being released that it is a legal attempt. Rules 9-1 and 9-3-e seem to be the relevant rules, but they do not address the location of the ball. Thanks for the input!
Old Sun Oct 27, 2013, 03:03pm
Do not give a damn!!

You did not read one of the most important part of this rule.

9-1-4:

"The restrictions in 91-3b through g apply until the ball touches the ring or back board or until the free throw ends."

Peace
Old Sun Oct 27, 2013, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member

Thanks! For whatever reason when I looked at that in the rulebook, I didn't see that little footnote at the end of list.
Old Sun Oct 27, 2013, 05:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member

Who You Gonna Call ???