The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: levittown new york
Posts: 32
score is A 66 B 64. 8 seconds left in the game. B is at the line shooting 2. misses the first. we all know what happens next. B takes the ball in a chest pass motion to hitt the rim for a long rebound. any ref out there call a violation on the shooter for not shooting the ball at the basket in a normal shooting motion like the first shot?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
Normal? Do we referee the shooters style? He hit the rim did he not?
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: levittown new york
Posts: 32
he clearly had no intention of making a basket , only to hit the rim for the situation. it must be a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 246
Have a good time trying to explain that to the coach. Not only are you an official but now you are a shooting instructor and your player is using bad form.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by scat03
any ref out there call a violation on the shooter for not shooting the ball at the basket in a normal shooting motion like the first shot?
Please don't even think about that. There is absolutely no rule support for a violation for this action. None. Do not even think about a violation for this. Ever. Ok? Please. Really. Don't. Promise? Please?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,762
Taking the rules literally, this would be a violation. However, like so many other rules, it's not called literally. In practice, hitting the rim is sufficient.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
what rule???

Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Taking the rules literally, this would be a violation. However, like so many other rules, it's not called literally. In practice, hitting the rim is sufficient.
what rule would you take literally to mean that this would be a violation....not only would I never call this a violation, I don't see anything that even remotely supports it...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 02:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Re: what rule???

Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Taking the rules literally, this would be a violation. However, like so many other rules, it's not called literally. In practice, hitting the rim is sufficient.
what rule would you take literally to mean that this would be a violation....not only would I never call this a violation, I don't see anything that even remotely supports it...
Camron may be referring to the strict definition of a "try" in R4-40-2- "A try for field goal is an attempt by a player to score one or two points by throwing the ball into a team's own basket. A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgement is throwing or attempting to throw for goal". R9-1-3 says the FT shooter has to "throw" within 10 seconds and cause the ball to enter the basket or touch the ring before the FT ends. By the strictest definition, you could probably say that throwing the ball against the ring to try and get a rebound doesn't meet the definition of a "try" in that you are not attempting to score, and therefore you violated R9-1-3. It is a helluva reach but.......

I don't think that even the most anal official around would ever actually use that logic though. Hopefully.

I'm just guessing. Naturally, Camron may have different thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 02:53pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,769
Hey Jr, am I still in charge of this discussion board??? Cause if I am, then I absolutely forbid anyone on this board from ever making this call!! Are we clear on that everyone?? It is verboten!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 03:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Hey Jr, am I still in charge of this discussion board??? Cause if I am, then I absolutely forbid anyone on this board from ever making this call!! Are we clear on that everyone?? It is verboten!!!
You're still in charge, O Mighty One. The armbands aren't in yet, so I can't send them out yet.

You're right. Anybody that would ever actually make that call would have a great future behind them.

PS-did I do good in making Windy disappear? He's over on the General Forum jousting with Rut. That thread may end up beating the baseball thread for longevity. Better there than here!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,762
Re: what rule???

Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Taking the rules literally, this would be a violation. However, like so many other rules, it's not called literally. In practice, hitting the rim is sufficient.
what rule would you take literally to mean that this would be a violation....not only would I never call this a violation, I don't see anything that even remotely supports it...


9-1-3 He/she shall throw within 10 seconds, and in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring before the free throw ends.

4-40-3 The free throw ends when ..when it is certain the try will not be successful....

If taken literally, the FT could end and be a violation if the referee could tell it wasn't going to be sucessful prior to it hitting the rim.

However, as I said earier, this is not how it is applied. Hits the rim = legal FT attempt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Re: Re: what rule???

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee


I don't think that even the most anal official around would ever actually use that logic though. Hopefully.

[/B]
hey where is MTD when we need him LOL just kidding...and I agree Cameron.. hits ring=legal attempt..
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 05:12pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,769
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Hey Jr, am I still in charge of this discussion board??? Cause if I am, then I absolutely forbid anyone on this board from ever making this call!! Are we clear on that everyone?? It is verboten!!!
You're still in charge, O Mighty One. The armbands aren't in yet, so I can't send them out yet.

You're right. Anybody that would ever actually make that call would have a great future behind them.

PS-did I do good in making Windy disappear? He's over on the General Forum jousting with Rut. That thread may end up beating the baseball thread for longevity. Better there than here!
You done good...and I headed to General Forum right now!!! Should be fun!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 08:04pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,769
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Hey Jr, am I still in charge of this discussion board??? Cause if I am, then I absolutely forbid anyone on this board from ever making this call!! Are we clear on that everyone?? It is verboten!!!
You're still in charge, O Mighty One. The armbands aren't in yet, so I can't send them out yet.

You're right. Anybody that would ever actually make that call would have a great future behind them.

PS-did I do good in making Windy disappear? He's over on the General Forum jousting with Rut. That thread may end up beating the baseball thread for longevity. Better there than here!
You done good...and I headed to General Forum right now!!! Should be fun!
Oh my, JR...those two need a serious time-out. Talk about a major pi$$ing match! "Look, mine went farther than yours!" "Oh yeah? Well I did it with no facial hair, so there!"
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 08:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
[/B]
Oh my, JR...those two need a serious time-out. Talk about a major pi$$ing match! "Look, mine went farther than yours!" "Oh yeah? Well I did it with no facial hair, so there!" [/B][/QUOTE]Yup, my resume is bigger than your resume!

You probably didn't get to see the posts that Mick has had to make go "bye-bye" already either. The lads are keeping poor ol' Mick a-hopping today.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1