![]() |
|
|
|||
Adam, take a look at NFHS 4-13-1 – the definition of frontcourt:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Stupid NFHS ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
4-12-2d A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. 4-42-5a The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds. So when the ball is touched by A2 on the throw-in, the throw-in is over. If A2 didn’t gain control of the ball there’s no team control for the purpose of calling violations so if the ball rolls into the backcourt and A3 picks it up the play is legal. The TC rule on the throw-in only covers penalties applied to fouls. I found this on the web from the NFHS’s 2011-12 rule interpretations. The scenario is slightly different but the essence is the same: SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
||||
And the rule changed so that "player control in the front court" is no longer required. It was always a clunky way around it anyway. But, the fact is, relying on old interpretations and powerpoint presentations is a horrible way to get proper enforcement. As Billy notes, rookies aren't going to have access to those things online.
Further, veterans don't always pay attention, and some just read the rules to get updates. When they read this rule, they'll rightly consider this a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Hey You Kids, Get Off Of My Front Court ...
Agree.
Read the rules? Then you've got a better veterans in your association than in mine. In Connecticut, we've just about decided to make the new sleeve rule tougher by saying that both bands (head, and wrist) and sleeves (arm, and leg) must be the same color for all players on the team, in direct opposition to the latest NFHS interpretations. Why? To make it easier for our members, especially our veteran members, to understand.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Sure, the throwin is over, but TC hasn't ended (see 4-12-3). |
|
|||
Quote:
Believe me, I know it’s convoluted but that’s what I found consistently in all of the online results. In this scenario, yes. When the ball is touched inbounds Team A has to re-establish control for violations to come into play again.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) Last edited by JetMetFan; Sat Oct 19, 2013 at 10:30pm. |
|
|||
Doesn't the team control aspect on a throw in, (which was changed just a few years back), only really apply to fouls on the offense? We no longer shoot free throws, when at one time we did. A tipped ball on the throw in isn't possession, it just means that the throw in ended. If A2 touches the throw in and the ball goes into the backcourt, and A3 gains possession, the only thing I have is a 10 second count.
Last edited by OKREF; Sat Oct 19, 2013 at 10:56pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team Control Foul and Player Control | The_Rookie | Basketball | 19 | Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:03pm |
Player Control or Team Control Foul | The_Rookie | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 04:19pm |
Player Control and Team Control fouls | MelbRef | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm |
New Team Control Foul Rule | seneca_rec | Basketball | 4 | Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:17am |
Player control vs Team control foul | QuebecRef87 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am |