View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 03:06pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Are you trying to learn how to properly adjudicate a play or win a battle of semantics?
Why not both?

I'm simply asking if the rule can be read and understood a different way. I read all the case plays involving 4-23-1, and none of them explain whether "extending arm, hip, leg, etc. into the opponents path" means "extending those extremities after the dribblers path takes him into the defenders extremity" or "extending those extremities before the dribblers path takes him into the defenders extremity".

If the first, then the call would be a block/hold/illegal use of hands. If the latter, the call would not penalize a legal defender.
Reply With Quote