The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
Is it just me or does he say "block" right after the whistle? I have block on B42.
__________________
There are two kinds of actuaries: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
I looked at it and thought charge.

Expecting a trick answer, I looked at it over and over trying to see if either defender did anything illegal. They had two feet down, in the path, were not moving, and didn't have their legs extended. I could find nothing they did wrong.

Despite some that believe it is required, there is no requirement that a charge/PC foul occur in the chest. The offensive player knocks two legal defenders off their spot. That is a charge (or maybe a no call)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
I agree with your assessment of the defenders, except for them not having legs extended. It appears to me as if the offensive player's head and shoulders are past B42's torso before any contact is made between their lower bodies. This suggests to me that B42's legs are outside his frame and the reason I have a block. However, based on responses so far, I appear to be in the minority here.
__________________
There are two kinds of actuaries: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
NCAA 10-1-8 "A dribbler shall neither charge into nor contact an opponent in the
dribbler’s path nor attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an
opponent and a boundary, unless the space is sufficient to provide a reasonable
chance for the dribbler to pass through without contact."

I know NFHS has a similar rule and I do not think the offensive player had enough space to make it between the two defenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
On first viewing, and all others after that, all I see is a push by the primary defender that preceded any other contact.

2 Shots for white.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 12:00pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Toward the end of the first showing of the play on the video, even though a white jerseyed player goes to get the ball, it appears the white players are moving away from the endline and the black players are moving toward inbounding the ball which would indicate the foul called was a charge on the ball handler.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 04, 2013, 09:01am
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainbrian View Post
NCAA 10-1-8 "A dribbler shall neither charge into nor contact an opponent in the dribbler’s path nor attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an opponent and a boundary, unless the space is sufficient to provide a reasonable chance for the dribbler to pass through without contact."

I know NFHS has a similar rule and I do not think the offensive player had enough space to make it between the two defenders.
Here is the NFHS rule.

Rule: 4-7-2
c. There must be reasonable space between two defensive players or a defensive player and a boundary line to allow the dribbler to continue in his/her path. If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater responsibility for the contact.

This seems like the poster play for this rule, unless you call the push first.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 07, 2013, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 157
White get the foul

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:17am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MathReferee View Post
I agree with your assessment of the defenders, except for them not having legs extended. It appears to me as if the offensive player's head and shoulders are past B42's torso before any contact is made between their lower bodies. This suggests to me that B42's legs are outside his frame and the reason I have a block. However, based on responses so far, I appear to be in the minority here.
As far as I know, having "legs extended" "outside the frame" is not one of the things that makes you lose Legal Guarding Position. As Cameron Rust mentioned, contact does not need to occur in the chest/torso to be a charge.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?
Well I would hope I picked up the push in the back first. That clearly is a foul to me. I cannot see any reason to call a foul on the two defenders standing together. I probably would have called either nothing on them or a PC foul if the push the in the back was not noticed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
As far as I know, having "legs extended" "outside the frame" is not one of the things that makes you lose Legal Guarding Position. As Cameron Rust mentioned, contact does not need to occur in the chest/torso to be a charge.
Well you must be within your frame, but that does not look like the issue here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 12:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?
...
If you rule that B1 pushed A1 how would you justify also calling a foul on A1 for subsequent contact?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
As far as I know, having "legs extended" "outside the frame" is not one of the things that makes you lose Legal Guarding Position. As Cameron Rust mentioned, contact does not need to occur in the chest/torso to be a charge.
While having a limb extended doesn't make a player lose LGP (contact in the torso can still be a charge regardless of the position of the legs and arms), it would be a block (or maybe a hold) if the contact is on the extended limb.

I don't think, however, in this play that either defender had a limb extended. They were both in a natural stance with their feet roughly shoulder width apart. It is quite possible for an opponent to get their head and shoulders by a fully legal defender and still make contact worthy of a charge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:54pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
While having a limb extended doesn't make a player lose LGP (contact in the torso can still be a charge regardless of the position of the legs and arms), it would be a block (or maybe a hold) if the contact is on the extended limb.
So if I am a defensive player standing in the lane like this:

and an offensive player decides to clothesline himself on my arm, what did I do wrong?

Here is what 4-23-1 says: "A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip, or leg into the path of the opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs."

Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
...
Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal?
You're making up your own interpretation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
So if I am a defensive player standing in the lane like this:

and an offensive player decides to clothesline himself on my arm, what did I do wrong?

Here is what 4-23-1 says: "A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip, or leg into the path of the opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs."

Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal?
If the contact is on one of the outstretched arms, then, yes, it's a block.

If the contact is in the torso, then it's a charge despite the outstretched arms.

(In both cases assuming other requirements are met)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screening plays from our friends at the DVBOA JetMetFan Basketball 58 Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:17pm
DVBOA...Phantom travels JetMetFan Basketball 28 Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:27am
DVBOA...Fans & noise makers JetMetFan Basketball 15 Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:34pm
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1