![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
It is illegal to cause the ball to carom off the board and return out of bounds. The reason is that the backboard is located inbounds. Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Apr 18, 2013 at 03:15am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Neither of you is properly reading what I wrote.
Obviously, I know that the ball becomes OOB when it contacts the back of the backboard. I stated that the backboard is LOCATED inbounds. Thus a thrower would have to pass the ball such that it breaks the inbounds plane in order for it to contact the backboard. That is why the thrower can't do it. On the other hand the thrower may cause the ball to strike other objects which are OOB such as the floor, the wall, the stanchion, a chair, a table, etc., as long as the ball remains on the OOB side of the boundary plane and does not carom into the court. Do you now grasp what I wrote? Since the front face of the backboard is positioned four feet from the vertical plane of the endline it would have to be an excessively thick backboard to have part of it located OOB! ![]() |
|
|||
Breaking the inbounds plane during a throw in is not against the rules. Where do you get the notion you're espousing here?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Nevada:
See Camron's post (Post #7 in this thread). MTD, Sr. P.S. Thanks Camron. Great minds think alike. ![]()
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
If the thrower doesn't pass the ball outside of the boundary plane to a teammate as in the above rule, then it must be a throw-in pass once it breaks the boundary plane and is subject to the rules and restrictions cited by Rob in post #14. |
|
|||
Fundamentally Correct ...
Fundamental #5. Neither the dribble nor traveling rule operates during the jump ball, throw-in or free throw.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Apr 18, 2013 at 06:03am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Question: T on throw-in | JoeT | Basketball | 4 | Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:17pm |
throw-in question | DaveRef | Basketball | 9 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:15pm |
Throw in question | ripcord51 | Basketball | 4 | Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:57am |
Throw in question | daveg144 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:30pm |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |