![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
In broader terms, a wise man changes his mind. You anticipate something, but something else happens, but you accidentally make the signal for what was anticipated. Tap yourself on the chest if you want, then make the correct signal. Or, if your partner made a call at the same time, you can drop you signal and walk away. It happens. There is nothing in any book which prevents it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
The Infamous Blarge Rears Its Angry Head ...
See 4.19.8 Situation C (Especially when one, or both, coaches see both signals). You're probably not going to be able to walk away, by rule, from this one.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Apr 17, 2013 at 06:26am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
signals but if it did what the coach saw or didn't see would not affect the call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Smoke Signals ???
"One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1"
Without signals, just exactly how are two officials going to "call" two different fouls? Without signals it would just be a race to the table to see who gets there, and makes the "call", first.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
No internet for five days, other than my phone. This thread comes at this question from a slightly different angle than others. The calling official gives a signal which he immediately realizes is a mistake and would like to change. Picture this: I anticipate a block, then the defender gets in position quicker than I thought possible, resulting in a clear charge. I see the play, but my hands don't get the memo in time. I mistakenly signal the block preliminary, then immediately realize the error. I go to the table and report the charge. All this is okay, unless there was a double whistle and my partner gave the charge signal all the way, in which case we must report a double foul?
I would like to know the intent and purpose of this rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the Blarge scenario you are always arguing about, there is no mistaken signal given. One officials sees a charge, the other sees a block. In NCAA-W by rule you go with PCA. In NFHS, NBA, and NCAA-M you go with a double foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inadvertent whistle, oh my | jdmara | Basketball | 23 | Thu Dec 31, 2009 05:18pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Boni | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | bisonlj | Football | 5 | Tue Sep 04, 2007 03:00pm |
| Inadvertent whistle | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 1 | Fri Jan 16, 2004 04:39pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Rev.Ref63 | Basketball | 29 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm |