![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
I Like The Way You Think ...
Good one.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Tuff Enuff (Fabulous Thunderbirds) ???
Anybody as tough as Jurassic Referee to tackle this one?
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Here are my answers which are based upon the definitions of player and team control.
1. As the player relinquished player control by throwing the ball off the backboard in his frontcourt, if he is able to retrieve the ball he has all rights as if he just caught a pass from a teammate. 2. Since only player and not team control ended, it would be a backcourt violation. The thrown ball does not automatically equate to a try for goal. |
|
|||
Thanks ...
Agree.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I Need A Little More Convincing ...
Quote:
Now you're going to allow him to start a new dribble? I need more convincing, and remember, this was a throw, not a try. NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 . A try for field goal. ART. 2 . A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Did the player lose control because of a try? No. Did the player lose control because of a touch by an opponent? No. Did the player lose control because of a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player? No. So why are you allowing the player to dribble a second time?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Apr 16, 2013 at 04:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
4-4-5 tells us that a ball hitting the backboard is treated the same as a ball hitting the playing court. 4-15 tells us that throwing the ball off the backboard is not part of the dribble, but the dribble ends when the player catches the ball. So if he bats the ball up off the backboard and catches it, his dribble ends at the catch. He can't dribble again. |
|
|||
Quote:
Even if the player catches the ball after having dribble, then throws it off the board, and then catches it again, the player is legal as that action is not considered a dribble. But it would be a violation to dribble again.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
Quote:
However, if I see it in a game, I'm probably going to judge it to be a try unless it is obvious that it is not.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pass off the backboard | PAOfficial | Basketball | 5 | Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:19pm |
NBA - Self-pass off backboard | unstandable | Basketball | 13 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 03:19pm |
Pass off own backboard | tjchamp | Basketball | 13 | Fri Mar 12, 2004 08:35am |
pass off the backboard, into the backcourt | devdog69 | Basketball | 19 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 05:20pm |
pass off the backboard | Nevadaref | Basketball | 23 | Fri Apr 11, 2003 11:18am |