The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
I don't see an illegal dribble...you could make a case for a travel as the right foot (pivot) is off the ground when he starts his dribble
yes, that's the part I saw. Just misspoke.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Interesting

Play 2 has a lot going on. Looks like a foul. However, if we pass on the foul, two things come to mind. If the ball leaving the offensive players hand is the start of a dribble, then we have a travel.

If the offensive player loses control of the ball and the ball hitting the ground is not the start of a dribble, he establishes backcourt status and doesn't regain frontcourt status before dribbling the ball. Team control maintained throughout...backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
he establishes backcourt status and doesn't regain frontcourt status before dribbling the ball.
Yes he does regain FC status -- foot on floor in FC, nothing touching the BC before he touches the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes he does regain FC status -- foot on floor in FC, nothing touching the BC before he touches the ball.
It's close, I see back foot touching in backcourt at time of touching of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes he does regain FC status -- foot on floor in FC, nothing touching the BC before he touches the ball.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
It's close, I see back foot touching in backcourt at time of touching of the ball.
But, If it was a dribble (and I think the initial release was a dribble) he does not return to the FC until the both feet touch entirely in the frontcourt. The back foot in the air, due to the 3-points clause, is still in the backcourt.

Of course, that doesn't change the fact that it should have been a foul to start with.


This brings up an interesting question. We know that a dribbler who steps on the OOB line has violated even if they are not touching the ball at the time they step OOB. What about the division line? It doesn't specify that. Does the mere fact that a dribbler steps on the division line give the ball backcourt status? I think it does, indirectly through the 3-points rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Mar 22, 2013 at 11:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
But, If it was a dribble (and I think the initial release was a dribble) he does not return to the FC until the both feet touch entirely in the frontcourt. The back foot in the air, due to the 3-points clause, is still in the backcourt.
That's only on a dribble from the BC to the FC. Since this dribble started in the FC, it doesn't apply.

(But your question / point about touching the BC while dribbling is interesting. I haven't watched again -- was this an interrupted dribble?)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2013, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That's only on a dribble from the BC to the FC. Since this dribble started in the FC, it doesn't apply.

(But your question / point about touching the BC while dribbling is interesting. I haven't watched again -- was this an interrupted dribble?)
I don't think it was interrupted.

But, on the original point, since the dribbler gains BC status by stepping in the BC, does it then become, technically, a dribble from BC to FC. We have a dribble, we have a dribbler, that dribbler is in the BC. When does a dribbler who is in the BC gain FC status? Is that perhaps the spirit of the rule? That would also cover most cases of a dribbler stepping on the line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm
Louisville @ Notre Dame, Rich's Video Request #2 JetMetFan Basketball 42 Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:49pm
Louisville @ ND, Rich's video request #1 JetMetFan Basketball 25 Wed Feb 13, 2013 09:18am
Louisville @ ND, Rich's video request #s 3 & 4 JetMetFan Basketball 12 Tue Feb 12, 2013 03:20pm
Can a pitcher request the mound be raked, dirt added, or repaired during an inning? eb_baseballguy Baseball 5 Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1