![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
One would have been BI and the other would have been GT. I think the first play was BI, but a very close call.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
I think it's about as close as it can be, and would not have a problem either way. Although the plays are different in rules references, the point is that from a players/coach perspective, they see them as the same types of plays deserving similar results and so I can see why the reaction on Noah's.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Ok, using the relevant rules, what makes this particularly confusing is that replay can be used if a violation was called. In this case, while the NBA says that Noah was called for a violation, and thus, the play was reviewable. However, there sure wasn't much indication that a violation was called, which probably lead to the confusion as to why one was reviewed and the other was not.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, in effect, it was called by FIBA rules.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Mar 19, 2013 at 04:26pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
From the second clip:
The first play is close...under NBA rules, if the ball is on the rim, but falling off the edge, then it's legal for either team to touch the ball. I think the Nuggets play JUST starts to touch the ball as the ball is falling off the edge, thus making it a legal play and a no call correct. Joakim's first tip in play (from the 2nd clip posted) looks legal to me.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now, how could Joakim's contact be legal at any level? It was a try that was on the way down, was above the rim, and had a chance to go in???? It wasn't an alley oop, which only becomes legal to grab because it is off to the side/front of the basket....where it isn't going in.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Mar 19, 2013 at 05:59pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 8 | Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm |
| Video: Is this a MLB HR ? | SAump | Baseball | 26 | Sun Aug 23, 2009 01:30pm |
| Video | Ch1town | Basketball | 11 | Tue Apr 15, 2008 02:58pm |
| Use the video? | TriggerMN | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 12, 2004 02:56pm |