The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
Then, what criteria would make it sufficient? Is it as simple as "in my judgement, he/she was shooting?
I think the FED statement is something like "begins the habitual motion" so yes, a lot of that is judgment.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 08:44am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think the FED statement is something like "begins the habitual motion" so yes, a lot of that is judgment.
Correct. I don't even think the word gathering is in the NFHS book regarding a shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 08:53am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think the FED statement is something like "begins the habitual motion" so yes, a lot of that is judgment.
And common sense.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 09:08am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Anyone else notice green 15 coming off the FT line toward the official to signal "T" multiple times?
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 09:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think the FED statement is something like "begins the habitual motion" so yes, a lot of that is judgment.
There's a sage official around here somewhere who likes to say, "Sometimes you just have to referee."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMBReferee View Post
I'm not too familiar with NCAA protocol, but aren't you supposed to give him the 2nd shot on the 1 and 1 first and then shoot the technicals?
That's what happened - #15 shot his 2nd then #21 shot two - and in this instance that's what's supposed to happen because this was a false multiple foul with the last foul being a dead ball contact T. The ball goes back into play as though the last foul was the only one that took place.

In most cases in the NCAA you shoot the T then go to the POI.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 10:56am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Credit to espin, they just aired a phone interview with Steve Javie who essentially said what we've been saying.

1. They had no choice on that first technical foul.
2. He'd let the coach vent a little, but when he comes out on the court like that completely out of control after tossing his jacket, he's no longer "venting a little."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
Camron,

I'd like to know what your criteria is for a shooting foul. Is gather not part of that equation? Or, what has to happen for you to call "and one".
I don't use the term "gather". It is an unnecessary term and it is entirely too vague. It is not defined and is used with great inconsistency with respect to when the shot begins and when the same player is liable for a travel. Some argue that "gather" is early when in the context of a shot but will swear up and down they've not gathered it when the discussion is a travel.

If they are holding the ball and are bringing it up or trying to bring it up at the time of contact, they're going to the line. They have to have started the upward movement with the ball (or be attempting to do so) or be attempting to turn to the basket (as in a typical post move) to be shooting. On a fast break/layup, that usually starts about the same time they catch the ball but not necessarily. Farther from the basket, it is usually later.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Mar 15, 2013 at 12:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Credit to espin, they just aired a phone interview with Steve Javie who essentially said what we've been saying.

1. They had no choice on that first technical foul.
2. He'd let the coach vent a little, but when he comes out on the court like that completely out of control after tossing his jacket, he's no longer "venting a little."
What did he say about the 1/2 court 'shot' call?

I still don't see it as a shot attempt. Fortunately for me, neither does one of my supervisors. And at the end of the day that's the only person whose opinion on the situation matters
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 12:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
What did he say about the 1/2 court 'shot' call?

I still don't see it as a shot attempt. Fortunately for me, neither does one of my supervisors. And at the end of the day that's the only person whose opinion on the situation matters
He didn't address it that I heard. I had a 7 year old running around, so I may have missed something. Honestly, I can see both sides of that, and I don't know how I would have ruled on the court. Hopefully, we'll get to see it on video in an association meeting.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 12:49pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I don't use the term "gather". It is an unnecessary term and it is entirely too vague. It is not defined and is used with great inconsistency with respect to when the shot begins and when the same player is liable for a travel. Some argue that "gather" is early when in the context of a shot but will swear up and down they've not gathered it when the discussion is a travel.

If they are holding the ball and are bringing it up or trying to bring it up at the time of contact, they're going to the line. They have to have started the upward movement with the ball (or be attempting to do so) or be attempting to turn to the basket (as in a typical post move) to be shooting. On a fast break/layup, that usually starts about the same time they catch the ball but not necessarily. Farther from the basket, it is usually later.

So you say they "are holding the ball and trying to bring it up". Another official says they have "gathered the ball". There is no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
He didn't address it that I heard. I had a 7 year old running around, so I may have missed something. Honestly, I can see both sides of that, and I don't know how I would have ruled on the court. Hopefully, we'll get to see it on video in an association meeting.
Not much of a multi-tasked are you?
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
So you say they "are holding the ball and trying to bring it up". Another official says they have "gathered the ball". There is no difference.
A1 dribbles the ball. A1 intends to (a)while in the air, grab the ball with both hands, then (b) land in a jump stop, and then (c) jump to try for goal. (a reasonably standard play we see several times a game.)

During this move, however, A1 is fouled between steps (a) and (b).

If you use the "gathered" criterion (as I understand it to mean), you'd award two shots. If you use the "begins the habitual motion" you wouldn't -- the landing is one "move" and the "try for goal" is a second.

I think that's the difference, and I think the second interp is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
So you say they "are holding the ball and trying to bring it up". Another official says they have "gathered the ball". There is no difference.
The point is that, in a different context, the same official will say they didn't gather it yet as a justification for not having a travel. It an undefined term that I see getting redefined on a whim to fit the desired, but sometimes unsupportable, end ruling rather than a clear definition that is used to determine the end ruling.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Mar 15, 2013 at 02:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A1 dribbles the ball. A1 intends to (a)while in the air, grab the ball with both hands, then (b) land in a jump stop, and then (c) jump to try for goal. (a reasonably standard play we see several times a game.)

During this move, however, A1 is fouled between steps (a) and (b).

If you use the "gathered" criterion (as I understand it to mean), you'd award two shots. If you use the "begins the habitual motion" you wouldn't -- the landing is one "move" and the "try for goal" is a second.

I think that's the difference, and I think the second interp is correct.
Thank you BOB! Great example to show that "gather" does not equal "shooting". It is necessary but is not sufficient (as I think you said earlier).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94366-richmond-vs-charlotte-end-game.html
Posted By For Type Date
sMACkdown | Women's Hoops Blog This thread Pingback Fri Mar 15, 2013 08:49am

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assignor - Richmond VA Area martynva Baseball 4 Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:04pm
Charlotte, NC fight at basketball game ranjo Basketball 19 Wed Feb 02, 2011 08:16am
Super DIII Camp - Richmond Va 21st-24th IREFU2 Basketball 6 Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:21am
Substitute A-10 game Xavier/ Charlotte Rick82358 Basketball 2 Fri Mar 10, 2006 02:47pm
nba-charlotte vs. orlando crew Basketball 15 Wed May 01, 2002 05:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1