The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2013, 05:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Resumption Of Play Procedure ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
You might want to check out 10.1.5 Situation A.
10.1.5 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled by B1 during an unsuccessful try and is
awarded two free throws. Team B requests and is granted a charged 60-second
time-out. Team B disregards the 15-second warning signal and the signal ending
the time-out and is still huddling with their coach at the end of the charged timeout.
RULING: The official shall administer the first free throw using the resumption-
of-play procedure and a violation occurs if it is missed. If two B players are
not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the
substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed. If the first
attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. (9-1-2; 10-1-5b)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2013, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
But they aren't both in marked lane spaces...so the "caveat" does not apply.
This is a case of the violation rules not being written to cover all the odd possibilities. These were clearly written without considering the effects of the resuming play procedure or power outages occurring with the ball in flight but before the ball hits the rim.

This is a lane space violation and the rules regarding lane spaces is what would apply. It is pretty clear that they only want the first of those is to be penalized. Assuming the teammate of the shooter is not already there when the ball is made live, the lack of a defender being in the first space occurs the moment the ball is live and all other lane space violations are ignored. If the teammate of the shooter is there at the time the ball is made live, then it is a simultaneous violation and both are penalized (and the referee is slapped).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 03:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2013, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
I'm going to disagree. 9-1-2 makes it absolutely clear that the lane spaces must be properly occupied as in 8-1-4 which says during a free throw, the first spaces shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower and no teammate of the free thrower can occupy these spaces. Essentially, the situation is the same as the casebook play where the defense and offense are in the wrong spaces 9.1.2: the defense is not in the first spaces and the offense is and should be ruled accordingly to that caseplay IMO.

Last edited by billyu2; Wed Feb 27, 2013 at 10:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2013, 10:24pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
This is a case of the violation rules not being written to cover all the odd possibilities. These were clearly written without considering the effects of the resuming play procedure or power outages occurring with the ball in flight but before the ball hits the rim.

This is a lane space violation and the rules regarding lane spaces is what would apply. It is pretty clear that they only want the first of those is to be penalized. Assuming the teammate of the shooter is not already there when the ball is made live, the lack of a defender being in the first space occurs the moment the ball is live and all other lane space violations are ignored. If the teammate of the shooter is there at the time the ball is made live, then it is a simultaneous violation on both are penalized (and the referee is slapped).
Interesting. The RofP procedure is used in order to call a violation instead of assessing a T for the initial delay in these types of situations. The only thing I can find in the case book is 10.4.4 which talks about a sideline infraction being ignored during the first free throw. So if the RofP is telling us to push the violation, then I think you are right in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I'm going to disagree. 9-1-2 makes it absolutely clear that the lane spaces must be properly occupied as in 8-1-4 which says during a free throw, the first spaces shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower and no teammate of the free thrower can occupy these spaces. Essentially, the situation is the same as the casebook play where the defense and offense are in the wrong spaces 9.1.2: the defense is not in the first spaces and the offense is and should be ruled accordingly to that caseplay IMO.
The difference is that the referenced case play is a simultaneous violation....they were both in the wrong spot when the FT began.

If, in the RoP situation, the shooting team was in the wrong when the ball was put at the disposal of the shooter, I'd agree as both violations occur at that time.

However, in the OP, the teammate of the shooter changed spots after the shooter had the ball. The opponent already violated, then the teammate left his original spot and violated. That case is no different than stepping in early but it happened to be into a neighboring space. It could have been into the lane or up one space. It doesn't really matter where they go....they have violated by leaving the space they were in and not so much by going into the specific space reserved for the defense. Only the first violation (the defensive violation) is penalized.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 03:40am.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
However, 8-1-4 says "During a free throw....(c) No teammate...shall occupy either of these two spaces." 9.1.2B provides the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
But they aren't both in marked lane spaces...so the "caveat" does not apply.
While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The difference is that the referenced case play is a simultaneous violation....they were both in the wrong spot when the FT began.

If, in the RoP situation, the shooting team was in the wrong when the ball was put at the disposal of the shooter, I'd agree as both violations occur at that time.

However, in the OP, the teammate of the shooter changed spots after the shooter had the ball. The opponent already violated, then the teammate left his original spot and violated. That case is no different than stepping in early but it happened to be into a neighboring space. It could have been into the lane or up one space. It doesn't really matter where they go....they have violated by leaving the space they were in and not so much by going into the specific space reserved for the defense. Only the first violation (the defensive violation) is penalized.
I don't see why it matters that the teammate changed "after" the shooter had the ball. The teammate is now occupying a space he is not allowed to be in during a free throw which violates a basic separate free throw provision: (B shall occupy these spaces, A cannot) If the spaces are properly occupied, violations are ruled according to those specific situations such as: "if B enters first followed by A, A's violation is ignored."

Last edited by billyu2; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 09:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).


While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
all of the above posts went through my head when I initially responded (in fact, I changed my post a couple of times before hitting "submit"). I came down on the side of a double violation.

I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning.

In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).


While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
I also see both sides, but I'm leaning the other way, since one violation happens first and they're both, essentially, FT lane violations. I'm not overly committed, however.

I've got no problem ignoring the second infraction since B is causing this whole mess anyway. Then again, A should know better, so penalizing them isn't going to give me any heart ache, either.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I also see both sides, but I'm leaning the other way, since one violation happens first and they're both, essentially, FT lane violations. I'm not overly committed, however.

I've got no problem ignoring the second infraction since B is causing this whole mess anyway. Then again, A should know better, so penalizing them isn't going to give me any heart ache, either.
A past ruling of some interest (perhaps) to this matter.
In this case, leaving one of the bottom spaces open is NOT a violation by the defense, but would still be a violation by the offense should one of its players step into there.
So according to this ruling, even if Team B players are not there, it is a violation for a Team A player to go into there.
Of course, in this particular case, there would not be a first violation for anyone to consider how it impacts the second one.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
A past ruling of some interest (perhaps) to this matter.
In this case, leaving one of the bottom spaces open is NOT a violation by the defense, but would still be a violation by the offense should one of its players step into there.
So according to this ruling, even if Team B players are not there, it is a violation for a Team A player to go into there.
Of course, in this particular case, there would not be a first violation for anyone to consider how it impacts the second one.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
Interesting interpretation, but I agree that the fact that it isn't a violation on teh defense here changes the play significantly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
all of the above posts went through my head when I initially responded (in fact, I changed my post a couple of times before hitting "submit"). I came down on the side of a double violation.

I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning.
In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too.

I agree. In fact, if I remember, the rule use to be it was a double violation if B violated first followed by A. Isn't that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I agree. In fact, if I remember, the rule use to be it was a double violation if B violated first followed by A. Isn't that correct?
Correct. This changed about six seasons ago to the current ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 10:06am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct. This changed about six seasons ago to the current ruling.
Right...and that's where I got the "first one caused the second one" thinking.

Anyway, I am taking back my change of thinking on this and going back to what I said earlier. Nevada and Bob reconvinced me. Penalize both of them as it is not a situation of both players being in marked lane spaces.

Can't believe I forgot Rule #3 of this forum: Always listen to Bob!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resumption of Play jdmara Basketball 12 Thu Nov 19, 2009 08:26pm
Resumption of play jdmara Basketball 7 Sat Nov 01, 2008 01:18am
Resumption of Play???? joseph2493 Basketball 27 Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:27am
Resumption of play Mendy Trent Basketball 6 Wed Oct 11, 2006 08:34am
Resumption of play?? ref4e Basketball 7 Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1