The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
But they aren't both in marked lane spaces...so the "caveat" does not apply.
While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).


While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
all of the above posts went through my head when I initially responded (in fact, I changed my post a couple of times before hitting "submit"). I came down on the side of a double violation.

I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning.

In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
all of the above posts went through my head when I initially responded (in fact, I changed my post a couple of times before hitting "submit"). I came down on the side of a double violation.

I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning.
In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too.

I agree. In fact, if I remember, the rule use to be it was a double violation if B violated first followed by A. Isn't that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I agree. In fact, if I remember, the rule use to be it was a double violation if B violated first followed by A. Isn't that correct?
Correct. This changed about six seasons ago to the current ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 10:06am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct. This changed about six seasons ago to the current ruling.
Right...and that's where I got the "first one caused the second one" thinking.

Anyway, I am taking back my change of thinking on this and going back to what I said earlier. Nevada and Bob reconvinced me. Penalize both of them as it is not a situation of both players being in marked lane spaces.

Can't believe I forgot Rule #3 of this forum: Always listen to Bob!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
all of the above posts went through my head when I initially responded (in fact, I changed my post a couple of times before hitting "submit"). I came down on the side of a double violation.

I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning.

In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too.
Again, that is written without the consideration of the RoP situation. It simply doesn't consider what may or should happen when the RoP is in effect.

In any case, the player in the second place who moves after the ball is live hasn't actually occupied the lower space, they've violated by leaving heir own space by breaking the plane of their lane space before they can ever get into the other lane space. And for a while, they're in both as they're moving. In other words, they've already violated before they get to the other space.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).


While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
I also see both sides, but I'm leaning the other way, since one violation happens first and they're both, essentially, FT lane violations. I'm not overly committed, however.

I've got no problem ignoring the second infraction since B is causing this whole mess anyway. Then again, A should know better, so penalizing them isn't going to give me any heart ache, either.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I also see both sides, but I'm leaning the other way, since one violation happens first and they're both, essentially, FT lane violations. I'm not overly committed, however.

I've got no problem ignoring the second infraction since B is causing this whole mess anyway. Then again, A should know better, so penalizing them isn't going to give me any heart ache, either.
A past ruling of some interest (perhaps) to this matter.
In this case, leaving one of the bottom spaces open is NOT a violation by the defense, but would still be a violation by the offense should one of its players step into there.
So according to this ruling, even if Team B players are not there, it is a violation for a Team A player to go into there.
Of course, in this particular case, there would not be a first violation for anyone to consider how it impacts the second one.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
A past ruling of some interest (perhaps) to this matter.
In this case, leaving one of the bottom spaces open is NOT a violation by the defense, but would still be a violation by the offense should one of its players step into there.
So according to this ruling, even if Team B players are not there, it is a violation for a Team A player to go into there.
Of course, in this particular case, there would not be a first violation for anyone to consider how it impacts the second one.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
Interesting interpretation, but I agree that the fact that it isn't a violation on teh defense here changes the play significantly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
That, 99% of the time, is the right answer to any post. "Going with Bob" is a pretty safe play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 02:23pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
So if we get to the replacement throw and there isn't a Team B player in both lower spaces, is the tech a DOG team tech? Does this "count" as the warning as well for throw in boundary plane violations for the rest of the game or am I mixing rules?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:13pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Yes it is a T for DofG.

Yes it covers all other potential DofG as it serves as the warning also.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Yes it is a T for DofG.

Yes it covers all other potential DofG as it serves as the warning also.
I must be missing something.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:40pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I must be missing something.
What are you missing?

10.1.5.A tells us it is a delay of game T for not occupying the required marked lane spaces following the RofP procedure.

9.2.10.A tells us that a DofG T also serves as the Warning recorded in the book and told to the HC.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:55pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
When you guys whistle a DOG, not necessarily for the OP but any DoG, what is your mechanic? Do you actually go over to the offending team's coach or just Holler at the scorer's table?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resumption of Play jdmara Basketball 12 Thu Nov 19, 2009 08:26pm
Resumption of play jdmara Basketball 7 Sat Nov 01, 2008 01:18am
Resumption of Play???? joseph2493 Basketball 27 Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:27am
Resumption of play Mendy Trent Basketball 6 Wed Oct 11, 2006 08:34am
Resumption of play?? ref4e Basketball 7 Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1