If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
But they aren't both in marked lane spaces...so the "caveat" does not apply.
|
While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.
Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.
I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.