![]() |
|
|
|||
Two things:
As Welpe pointed out, the AP and POI aren't exclusive. The point of interruption includes using the arrow in certain situations. Second, this play is covered in case book play 8.6.1.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Does 8.6.1. really cover this?
I understand your reference to this casebook play. You were using situation C. But in the op he0said the defense rebounded the ball. That could be one player stepping in and rebounding while everybody stands still then starts looking around. You would need to know if all or several from both teams agressively rebounded. From the info provided especially if lead administering FT made mistake I would go with AP. But I was not there
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quite frankly, I have no idea what you've been saying these past few posts.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
I'm looking at my case book from last year and this year's one...there is no 8.6.1 Situation C.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
I'm the only one who mentioned IW, I think. I stand by my post.
|
|
|||
Appreciate.
I appreciatiate your candor. But from the OP u really don't know whether all were hellbent on getting a rebound in which you would be right or whether 1 defensive man stepped in and rebounded and everybody froze and a IW. Either way 8.6.1 gets it right. Enjoyed the debate. !
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Oh Boy! we have a mess! | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 33 | Mon Dec 10, 2007 04:24pm |
What a Mess! | umpire99 | Baseball | 14 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 08:40am |
get me out of this mess | boiseball | Basketball | 36 | Tue Jan 16, 2007 05:15pm |
How about this mess? | Indy_Ref | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jun 15, 2006 01:36pm |
How about this mess! | Buckeye12 | Baseball | 13 | Thu Apr 10, 2003 12:56pm |