The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 12:45am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Indiana v. Michigan State Clips

Asked to post these plays:

Handcheck then elbow:



Blocking foul and 1:



Foul on 3 point try:

__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 12:51am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Thanks APG.

#2 = yuck.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 01:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
#1. That is a pretty weak foul to call. It clearly didn't reroute, impede, displace, or dislodge and offensive player was left with essentially an undefended layup.

#2. Good block. Defender was jumping towards the shooter at the time of contact.

#3. I do not like the foul call at all. I don't see anything that defender did wrong short of not getting out of the way.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Feb 20, 2013 at 02:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 01:47am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
#1. That is a pretty weak foul to call. It clearly didn't reroute, impede, displace, or dislodge and offensive player was left with essentially and undefended layup.

#2. Good block. Defender was jumping towards the shooter at the time of contact.

#3. I do not like the foul call at all. I don't see anything that defender did wrong short of not getting out of the way.
I'm with you on 1 and 2. On 3 I simply don't have any kind of an angle. Give me the T's angle and I'll have an opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 03:05am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
1. How was A disadvantaged? If they call the handcheck, and the elbow gets called upon review, it looks like we have a double foul of sorts.

2. Looks close. I think B went forward slightly = block.

3. I have nothing on this. If I had the T's angle, I hope I didn't see something that only he saw.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 08:34am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
I agree that it is a block in 2. However the basket was counted
Does anyone agree that the basket should count?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinP View Post
The ref came out with a block call and then changed it to PC.
Block call. I had PC w shoulder lowered by Zeller.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 09:08am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinP View Post
Block call. I had PC w shoulder lowered by Zeller.
Lowered shoulder? Is there some magical degree where when the shoulder is lower than that, it equals a foul on that player?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
I'm still not sold number 2 is a block. What did the defender do wrong? He established legal guarding position and moved laterally to maintain it. The offensive player created the contact. Definitely shouldn't have been scored, regardless.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 10:49am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,793
Eh, I have no problem counting the bucket in #2 on a blocking foul. Shrug.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Eh, I have no problem counting the bucket in #2 on a blocking foul. Shrug.
So you're saying that you don't have a travel on A1 or are you ignoring the travel violation due to the contact on the blocking foul?
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 11:39am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
So you're saying that you don't have a travel on A1 or are you ignoring the travel violation due to the contact on the blocking foul?
I'm not saying *I'd* necessarily count it. It's not the travel that catches my eye here, but the fact that the player regathers.

The problem is that once there's going to be a foul, Valentine is officiating the contact -- he's probably not even seeing the feet then -- I doubt he gets a travel after the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickman5 View Post
I'm still not sold number 2 is a block. What did the defender do wrong? He established legal guarding position and moved laterally to maintain it. The offensive player created the contact. Definitely shouldn't have been scored, regardless.
I'm with you on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 10:53am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
I'm with you on this one.
To me, he jumped and closed distance on the player with the ball. It's really, really close, though, and I'm not making a big deal out of it being called either way. Some calls are close enough that it really can be called either way on the floor.

BTW, I can't believe not a single person corrected the OP, who posted the thread as Indiana vs. Michigan. This group is slipping (I've edited the title).
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2013, 11:05am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Is it just me or does the official point at the player on the ground in play #1 who took an elbow? The gesture looks a bit antagonistic.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indiana/Michigan St. Flagrant. OKREF Basketball 31 Wed Feb 20, 2013 02:47pm
Michigan/Indiana Block (Sanzere call 1st half) JetMetFan Basketball 13 Tue Feb 05, 2013 05:34pm
Indiana/Michigan block/charge OKREF Basketball 39 Mon Feb 04, 2013 05:26pm
Indiana /Michigan State Rich Basketball 6 Sun Jan 27, 2013 03:25pm
Indiana/Michigan Johnny Ringo Football 18 Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1