![]() |
Indiana v. Michigan State Clips
Asked to post these plays:
Handcheck then elbow: <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/YE5J2iLFF4A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Blocking foul and 1: <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/hRsRvoaYeuU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Foul on 3 point try: <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/aXYIrlM2rwI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Thanks APG.
#2 = yuck. |
#1. That is a pretty weak foul to call. It clearly didn't reroute, impede, displace, or dislodge and offensive player was left with essentially an undefended layup.
#2. Good block. Defender was jumping towards the shooter at the time of contact. #3. I do not like the foul call at all. I don't see anything that defender did wrong short of not getting out of the way. |
Quote:
|
1. How was A disadvantaged? If they call the handcheck, and the elbow gets called upon review, it looks like we have a double foul of sorts. :D
2. Looks close. I think B went forward slightly = block. 3. I have nothing on this. If I had the T's angle, I hope I didn't see something that only he saw. |
I agree that it is a block in 2. However the basket was counted
Does anyone agree that the basket should count? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Based on your statement, "ending the TRY", you would wave off the basket (due to the travel), but still shoot two free throws since, by your statement, the try had indeed started, correct? By the way, I happen to think that we count MANY baskets in precisely these scenarios BECAUSE we really don't have mechanics for indicating the player had STARTED the try for goal, BUT the foul caused a travel that SHOULD negate the basket. For example report to the table, Black 21, push, 2 shots, no basket, travel signal....Since we do not have any such mechanics, IF a shooter is clearly in the act of shooting when fouled, travels (regardless how noticeably), and MAKES the shot, referees disregard the travel and count the basket in virtually every case.... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I'm still not sold number 2 is a block. What did the defender do wrong? He established legal guarding position and moved laterally to maintain it. The offensive player created the contact. Definitely shouldn't have been scored, regardless.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24pm. |