The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2013, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
I wouldn't split hairs that closely if this was off a rebound. I'd have A1 gaining player control in the backcourt.
Agreed. THe first dribble the ball hit in the BC, so the three-points rule applies and A1 is in the BC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2013, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Agreed. THe first dribble the ball hit in the BC, so the three-points rule applies and A1 is in the BC.
Huh?

Player control, and thus team control, doesn't begin until the first dribble hits the floor?

Doesn't the 3 points rule apply coming from BC to FC and not visa versa?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 02:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Huh?

Player control, and thus team control, doesn't begin until the first dribble hits the floor?

Doesn't the 3 points rule apply coming from BC to FC and not visa versa?
I can see where bob is coming from.

PC, TC, and the dribble all start at the same time since there was never a catch so he is considering that the entire play is during a a dribble and subject to the 3-points rule. I can buy that as there really isn't anything to say that there any one is considered to have happened first.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 02:46am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Even if the 3 point rule did apply, this would still be a violation. All 3 points must cross the line before location changes. They did in this case. In no case is it necessary that all 3 points are in the place of origin.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I can see where bob is coming from.

PC, TC, and the dribble all start at the same time since there was never a catch so he is considering that the entire play is during a a dribble and subject to the 3-points rule. I can buy that as there really isn't anything to say that there any one is considered to have happened first.
That's what I meant

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Even if the 3 point rule did apply, this would still be a violation. All 3 points must cross the line before location changes. They did in this case. In no case is it necessary that all 3 points are in the place of origin.
We're talking now about a play different from the video.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 12:22pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post



We're talking now about a play different from the video.

I got that. But in the video when does player control start? I had this exact play earlier this year on a throw-in. It made my whistle a tick late as I asked myself whether the original touch at the top of the dribble was the start of player control. I said it was, much like this video. The touch was in the frontcourt, the ball bounced in the backcourt. Violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I got that. But in the video when does player control start? I had this exact play earlier this year on a throw-in. It made my whistle a tick late as I asked myself whether the original touch at the top of the dribble was the start of player control. I said it was, much like this video. The touch was in the frontcourt, the ball bounced in the backcourt. Violation.
I'm very confused. In the video it doesn't matter wehn PC starts becasue TC was never lost. So when the Michigan player was last to touch / first to touch, it was a violation.

I think I must be missing something about the question.

Edit: Maybe you are asking, suppose the same play happens during a throw-in, instead of during "playing action". In that case, I'd rule the same as in the "rebound question" asked in #19 and answered in #20 and #21

Last edited by bob jenkins; Sun Jan 27, 2013 at 05:39pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Michigan State vs Purdue stiffler3492 Basketball 12 Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:28pm
Michigan Purdue game officials big jake Football 1 Sat Oct 06, 2012 03:59pm
Burr flagrant in purdue michigan game jontheref Basketball 8 Sun Feb 01, 2009 01:18pm
Purdue @ Michigan, R2 Scrapper1 Volleyball 2 Sun Oct 12, 2008 07:33pm
Purdue/Michigan game jcarter Basketball 2 Thu Feb 08, 2007 01:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1