![]() |
|
|
|||
Fouled Out Substitution During Free Throw
This was in the Detroit Free Press today.
The Mustangs were ahead, 57-52, with 35 seconds left in overtime when Marian's Kamry Peake was fouled, went to the free-throw line and sank the first of two free throws. However, Divine Child coach Mary Laney got the attention of an official and said the substitute for her player who had fouled out had not been brought into the game when Peake made the free throw. The official explained to Marian coach Mary Cicerone that he had to take the point off the scoreboard and admit the substitute, then shoot the free throws. There was just one problem with that: The sub had entered the game. "He said the other official blew it because he didn't let her in the game," Cicerone said. "I said: 'But she was in the game, she was standing right here.' Of course, I said it a little more aggressive than that." For emphasis, Cicerone stomped her right foot on the spot the substitute and the official were standing during the free throw. And that is when an official from across the court hit Cicerone with a technical foul. "You're really going to give me a technical for your mistake?" Cicerone asked. "He said: 'Yes, I am.' He was embarrassed because he screwed up." Comments?
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury |
|
|||
Free throw counts, bring the replacement player, resume.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
"No sir, the technical is for the way you handled it, whether we were right or wrong about the call is irrelevant."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
When an official incompetently wipes points off the scoreboard and on top of that wipes points off for something that didn't happen that crew better be prepared to allow a coach to stomp his/her foot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Agreed, agreed and agreed! I fully realize that referees are going to make mistakes from time to time as we are human. At the same time, when we do make a mistake, we need to be somewhat sympathetic to those we have wronged...IMHO.....
|
|
|||
Originally from that area. My guess is this game was worked by a very experienced crew. Just goes to show you have to be on your toes.
"4.14.1 SITUATION C: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2's fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B's coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B's head coach shall be notified of B2's disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official's error and not a correctable error situation according to Rule 2, Section 10. (6-1-2c; 10-5-2; 2-8-3)" |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
The first free throw should definitely have stood. I believe I read later in that article that he shooter ended up splitting the new pair of free throws and the point may have never been recorded/awarded. If so, that only makes a bad situation worse. ![]() Ironically enough, my local association discussed free throw administration and procedures at our meeting this month. According to our trainer, it was one of the areas of concern he received recent feedback about. I'm curious if these officials are part of my association and, if so, if they attended the meeting.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball |
|
|||
I thought I posted this earlier, but I don't see it anywhere.
My takeaway from this is -- How did it happen? Foul, we're shooting two. At some point, a substitute (the one in question) enters the game, but since we're shooting two, the only way A6 would've made it onto the floor was if the officials were properly notified it was A1's fifth foul, they notifed Coach A and allowed A6 to enter before the first FT. Right? Did A6 just walk in off the bench and A1 leave the court in disgust/disappointment w/o any of the above actually taking place? Not that I'd expect the Free Press to mention all this, since it's not of interest to the average reader, but I wish we knew more about the administration of all this. If the administering official initiated the first FT w/o regard to any of this, when/how did A6 materialize on the floor? |
|
|||
Quote:
Players and coaches, some of whom are very respectful of the substitution process, think it all goes out the window when a player fouls out.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I had something similiar happen to me. Boys JV, (2) man crew (long story). Visitor team getting pounded 4 min. left. I am lead. Call B1 for block he and coach are both upset. B1's 5th foul. I do not get told this. As I am moving to table keeping eye on players Visiting coach calls all players over to bench. A1 is at free throw line while I advise table of foul. Partner is holding ball. I had already T'd V coach up earlier for ABS. I advise coach need players to line up. He states "I get 30 seconds, know the rule." I look at table and they ask if they should start the clock. I say yes. When coach made his statement I knew what I had missed. I gave him some rope but could have rang him up again. Still not sure how I missed B1 had 5 fouls or when sub came in.
|
|
|||
Quote:
2) If the sub was already in, then there's no extra time. |
|
|||
Quote:
At one point, one of his player's fouls out. They inform the coach, and start the 30 seconds (yes, it was still 30 seconds back then). After the warning horn, my partner says, "We're gonna need a sub, Coach." As you might guess, the coach snaps "I get my 30 seconds!" To which, my interpreter replied simply, "Don't take 31. . ." ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Substitution after made free throws | vawils | Basketball | 8 | Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:13am |
free throws take place with fouled out player still on court | sleebo | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 28, 2004 08:25am |
Substitution after a made free throw | stewcall | Basketball | 7 | Sat May 10, 2003 01:05am |
Mechanic for Free Throw substitution | vawils | Basketball | 5 | Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:30am |
Made Free Throw substitution | tigerb | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 04, 2002 11:44pm |