![]() |
|
|
|||
I believe there's an NCAA A.R. that states that the OP ruling would not be correct for college, either, per se.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
I can't find a current A.R. but I believe it supposed to be ruled an IW.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
It's in there, and you're correct in the ruling being an IW, but the AR states that the protocol is to subsequently ask if the HC would then like the time out anyway.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
Perfect timing. I made this very mistake today.
Ball was in the air on a pass, and I hear a frustrated coach's TO request. I wait for the catch, hear the request again, tweet. I immediately knew I kicked it. The other coach had that "he can't do that!" look in his eyes. I explained that, since the ball was dead, I have to honor the request, and I apologized. That's all you can do.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
I don't want to start another thread about time outs, so I'll ask my question in this thread.
Please post a rule book or case play reference regarding a player calling timeout as they leave the playing court with possession of the ball. |
|
|||
Post a rule that prohibits or limits a player from having a timeout granted with regard to leaving the court (assuming you're speaking NFHS rules). That should be a hint about this play...
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
There's not 1 rule reference for this: you'd have to stitch together player control and player location.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
5.8.3 SITUATION D: A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1's throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1's disposal for a throw-in. RULING: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Time Outs | chseagle | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 16, 2010 03:48pm |
time-outs | WVBasketballRef | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 21, 2010 08:01am |
time expired/time outs | cloverdale | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am |
Time-outs! | DJRedfox | Basketball | 5 | Tue Dec 17, 2002 01:27pm |
ot time outs | THE OFFICIAL | Football | 6 | Sun Nov 03, 2002 08:31pm |