![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
interception start of try whistle/horn A release of the shot is not necessary to have free throws in this situation, if that's what you are asking.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Act Of Shooting ...
Good point.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Had this happen to me the other day in a JVG game. Called a foul on defense as horn was going off and ball came out of hands after the buzzer. Gave two free throws and the coach wasn't too happy. Of course my partner questioned my interpretation as well
, but I felt pretty confident.
|
|
|||
|
Well to make matters worse, the team that got fouled was in the double bonus so the shot coming out didn't matter. I strongly believe based on what I've read here that foul at the horn should've resulted in FTs.
|
|
|||
|
You definitely don't have enough information to make that decision (or at least, you have not given it to us). I will say, however, that the referee telling you "They were simultaneous, so no free throws" erred. He gets paid to make the decision as to whether the foul occurred before or after the buzzer - simultaneous is not an option. There are no ties between unrelated events. At some point, two similarly timed events become too close together for a human to be able to differentiate with certainty... but there ARE no ties, and certainly no rules regarding them.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
The ref in question said both events happened at the same time and he ended the game. I think I have what I need to make me feel better. I witnessed this call and the official wouldn't listen to me. He indicated that since both events happened at the exact same time the game is over. The foul in this situation would've put Team A in the double bonus. I think he's wrong, but it is water under the bridge now.
|
|
|||
|
It has nothing to do with the whistle. If the foul occurs before the horn, you shoot FTs. And since the whistle always comes after the foul, there's your answer.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Pick A Prize From The Top Shelf ...
Great point.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Agreed, and if you don't know which happened first, then the foul happened first.
|
|
|||
|
Basis For Interpretation ???
Based on this: "If table officials disagree, the goal shall count and/or the foul shall be penalized, unless the referee has knowledge which alters such ruling."?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Sure.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NBA: Foul should have been called at end of Game 4? | kdays78 | Basketball | 8 | Sat May 31, 2008 03:35am |
| FT foul during Ill/AZ St game | Nevadaref | Basketball | 1 | Tue Nov 20, 2007 09:58am |
| Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game | BktBallRef | Basketball | 10 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am |
| Game Over or Foul? | FVB58 | Basketball | 15 | Mon Feb 13, 2006 06:34pm |
| Foul at end of game | lukealex | Basketball | 8 | Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:43am |