![]() |
|
|
|||
Yep, no call for that whatsoever. Whack.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
I was just in the crowd, but that's what I was thinking for the one during the timeout since it was blatantly unsportsmanlike and potentially inciting. For the one during the sub, coach is just out of luck.
|
|
|||
True, I just meant judging the potential unsportsmanlike-ness of each occurrence independently. But, free throws or not, I have no problem with the second one since the coach is using his sub time as a de-facto time-out.
|
|
|||
So there are people saying they would give a T to team B? Would you call this T on one player specifically or the head coach?
Playing devil's advocate: I'm the head coach of team B and I accept telling my players to move or even a technical foul. Following the next timeout, what would you do if my team is ready to play and team A isn't out of their huddle and ready at the second horn? If your reply isn't to immediately give them a warning or T (if they already had a delay of game warning), how much are you willing to listen to me raise a stink? I wouldn't give a T for this, but as soon as I read that some officials would tell the players to get away it made me think about what could happen the next time if A isn't ready at the second horn.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
OK, would you do that...especially if the team B coach is yelling, "Come on, put the ball down, we are ready, the second horn sounded already"?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
But this answer is simple as well. If a team isn't ready at the second horn, you go with the resuming play procedure. Whistle, count 2 seconds, whistle and put the ball on the floor. The rules don't allow a warning to be issued in this situation. Whether Team A delays in returning to the floor or not, Team B has no right to enter their huddle. And if you raise a stink, I can handle you, too. Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
I think one does have something to do with the other. One team breaks the huddle after the first horn and one doesn't. If an official dictates where players can and cannot go while the other team is still in the huddle I think it is the right thing to do to end the timeout appropriately. A coach could say a variation of the paragraph above. It could start as a calm remark/question from a coach all the way to the coach yelling to put the ball on the floor. I am wondering if someone would go as far as giving a coach a T for unsportingly asking for the official to do what the official is supposed to do. I had a college game on Saturday and we talked about something similar to this in pregame. Some things just will not get done until you see guys doing it on TV...and that will probably not happen. Camron, I will answer your question. After considering this situation, I think I would position myself between the players and the huddle and that is about as far as I would go after the first horn. That could mean the players are physically 4 or 5 feet away. I'm not sure how unsporting it would be to be close to the huddle since I would actively be interrupting the coach anyway to get them out of the huddle.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
10.4.4 B In a situation where similar multiple infractions occur at the same time, it is not the intent of the rules to penalize each individual infraction as a separate technical foul. One technical foul is charged to team A........
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|