The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2012, 11:12am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Looking at Monitor

NCAA Question related to this play...

Mizzou coach had no timeouts..if he requests the crew to look at monitor and the foul is NOT upgraded to Flagrant 1...would he be charged a timeout and since he has NONE..would a T be assessed for excessive TO?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2012, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
NCAA Question related to this play...

Mizzou coach had no timeouts..if he requests the crew to look at monitor and the foul is NOT upgraded to Flagrant 1...would he be charged a timeout and since he has NONE..would a T be assessed for excessive TO?
Yes, he would get the T.

Note that the coach may only request a monitor review to determine if there was an F2 personal or contact technical foul in NCAAM. In NCAAW, they can also request for an F1 personal or contact dead ball technical involving contact with an elbow above the shoulders. If the coach makes such a request, then the officials could decide that the foul was an F1 but not an F2. in this case, a timeout would still be charged since there was no F2 foul.

Here's the relevant portion of the rulebook:
Rule 2-13.2. Officials may use such available equipment only in the following situations:
d. Fouls.
1. Determine if a flagrant 2 personal foul, flagrant 2 contact technical foul or (women) flagrant 1 personal foul for illegal contact with an elbow above the shoulders of an opponent or a (women) contact dead ball technical foul for illegal contact with an elbow above the shoulders of an opponent occurred. When it is determined that a flagrant 2 contact technical foul did not occur but a flagrant 1 personal foul, or contact dead ball technical foul did occur, those fouls shall be penalized accordingly. However, no other infractions may be penalized.
b. A coach may request a monitor review to determine if any of the fouls in 2-13.2.d.1 occurred. When no such foul is assessed, a timeout shall be charged to that team.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 12:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
I do not have an intentional/F1...close but not quite.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 01:07am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I do not have an intentional/F1...close but not quite.
What's keeping you from going over the edge?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 10:40am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
What's keeping you from going over the edge?
Was the contact excessive or the result?
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 10:55am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
Was the contact excessive or the result?
I think the more pertinent question about this play is did the player make a legitimate enough attempt to play the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 11:08am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
I think the more pertinent question about this play is did the player make a legitimate enough attempt to play the ball?
I agree with this as I dont believe the contact was excessive.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
I think the more pertinent question about this play is did the player make a legitimate enough attempt to play the ball?
I think yes. I think he reached for where he expected to the ball to be but the dribbler shifted it away from him. If you look at the view from the lead's position you can see the hand of the defender reaching beyond the body of the dribbler towards the ball. He didn't get it, but that doesn't mean he wasn't trying to get the ball.

Additionally, I look to see if the contact I see could cause the result that I see. I don't think it did. I think the dribbler embellished.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Dec 30, 2012 at 01:11pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fla-UCLA softball_junky Softball 17 Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:24am
Ucla - Asu IRISHMAFIA Softball 8 Sat May 31, 2008 10:09am
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW tcblue13 Softball 3 Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm
Missouri fonzzy07 Basketball 14 Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:01am
UCLA vs AZ wadeintothem Softball 2 Sat May 07, 2005 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1