The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 02:23am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Player enters a court without being beckoned.

Sophmore boys game today, I was standing at midcourt ready to hand the ball to the thrower-in-er. I hand it too him and he passes the ball to A2 on the court. Horn sounds and B6 walks on to the court to sub for B1. I blow the play dead and tell B6 to get off the court and make him wait. Until the next opportunity to sub. I don't think I handled the situation by rule but no one complained and my varsity official said I did it correctly. I was just going to ignore the horn because I knew it was for a sub, but the player walked on to the court.

I think by rule it should have been a technical foul charged to someone (team, player? I don't know.) Some advice on the proper way to handle this in the future would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 04:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
By rule, a T on the player for entering without being beckoned.

Also by rule, once you blow the whistle, whether you call the T or not, it is now a legal opportunity to sub and that player is allowed in.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 11:48am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
By rule, a T on the player for entering without being beckoned.

Also by rule, once you blow the whistle, whether you call the T or not, it is now a legal opportunity to sub and that player is allowed in.
Unlikely that's the way it's going to get handled by many officials, though.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 05:14pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Not For Me ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Also by rule, once you blow the whistle, whether you call the T or not, it is now a legal opportunity to sub and that player is allowed in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Unlikely that's the way it's going to get handled by many officials, though.
By rule, there is no legal way that I can prevent that eligible substitute from entering the game at that point. If you go by the book, you can't get in trouble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 07:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
I wouldn't assess a T in this case...Unless I can T the table.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 07:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Penalty ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by refiator View Post
Unless I can T the table.
... and then make them all sit down. That'll teach 'em.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2012, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Unlikely that's the way it's going to get handled by many officials, though.
Have to agree with Rich...

...we had a similar situation the other night in a BV game. I had just handed the ball to the "thrower"...and before he released the ball, a player ran on the court at the same time my partner was blowing his whistle. This was after a TO, and since the player had not reported before the first horn we made the player wait untill the next opportunity to sub.

My partner later said he did not know that I had given the ball to the "thrower"...which seems odd because we have worked a lot of games together (20 plus years) and we always try to get eye contact with each other before a throw-in. (this was 3 whistle crew)

...anyway...we discussed this at our association meeting and let the group have a good laugh at us. I, good naturedly, *****ed my partner out in front of the group and said we should have T'd up the player for running onto the court.

Probably good that we didn't T up the player...because my partner blew his whistle to let the sub in... (Inadvertant whistle)

Would any of you have let the sub in the game in this situation?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Sophmore boys game today, I was standing at midcourt ready to hand the ball to the thrower-in-er.

He's just a thrower.

And yes, the way you handled it was fine, IF you also then had a short conversation with the timer.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2012, 11:53am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Sophmore boys game today, I was standing at midcourt ready to hand the ball to the thrower-in-er. I hand it too him and he passes the ball to A2 on the court. Horn sounds and B6 walks on to the court to sub for B1. I blow the play dead and tell B6 to get off the court and make him wait. Until the next opportunity to sub. I don't think I handled the situation by rule but no one complained and my varsity official said I did it correctly. I was just going to ignore the horn because I knew it was for a sub, but the player walked on to the court.

I think by rule it should have been a technical foul charged to someone (team, player? I don't know.) Some advice on the proper way to handle this in the future would be appreciated.
Just for comparison:

In FIBA, once the ball is live in the thrower-in's hands, the substitution opportunity is over, and when B6 enters the court, you could only bring him in if you call him for a T, which would create another substitution opportunity.

But if we decide to not call a T, I am tempted to inform B6 to get off the court and continue play. If that doesn't or won't go smoothly, kill the play, reset the clock to what it should have been, re-do the throw-in and B6 can in at the next substitution opportunity.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player enters the court during the live ball JoeTheRef Basketball 7 Wed Jan 06, 2010 01:24pm
Sub wrongly enters court - sort of Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Mon Feb 23, 2009 02:59am
What's your call - player entering without being beckoned? dkmz17 Basketball 26 Tue Feb 26, 2008 04:24pm
Players running onto court withoput being beckoned Been Dare Basketball 7 Thu Jan 06, 2005 02:32pm
Item enters the court Mike O Basketball 9 Wed Jan 10, 2001 10:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1