The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadvertent whistle (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93126-inadvertent-whistle.html)

just another ref Thu Dec 06, 2012 01:51am

Intent and purpose of the rule. For this purpose, the team in control is the team which last had the ball, even if it is loose at the whistle. If you give a loose ball back to a team which last made any pass, I would also give it back to that team if the pass happened to be a throw-in pass.

Eastshire Thu Dec 06, 2012 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 865252)

Still with that being said I still think that you go to the AP as all the rule did was change to what we classify a foul, not what happens in the situation with the ball.
Peace

All they wanted the rule change to do was change how a foul by the team with the throw-in was handled. What it did was give the team with the throw-in team control.

In this situation, there has not been an event which ends A's TC which started on the throw-in before the inadvertent whistle occurred.

jeremy341a Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:57am

Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 865313)
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.

From the time the try is released until someone secures the rebound.

If the try is good, then the POI is a throw in along the endline for B.

Raymond Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 865313)
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.

You would go to the AP arrow whenever there isn't team control or a try is missed.

The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied.

What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control.

The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.

OKREF Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:13am

After thinking about this, team control on a throw in only applies to fouls, so if the whistle was blown while the ball was in the air, after B1 touches, and after hitting the backboard I would go with AP, if blown while in A1 possession then go with A's ball.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 865320)
After thinking about this, team control on a throw in only applies to fouls,

Reference, please.

Adam Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 865323)
Reference, please.

Everything the NFHS has distributed regarding the rule change. Of course, we won't find it in the actual rule.

JRutledge Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865319)
The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.

They never want to do that for some reason. They always want to be cute and adopt a rule but do not want to adopt the language which would be so much easier.

Peace

jeremy341a Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 865313)
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct?

Is this correct?

OKREF Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 865332)
Is this correct?

Yes. A gets the ball. Still have team control in an interrupted dribble.

jeremy341a Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 865333)
Yes. A gets the ball. Still have team control in an interrupted dribble.

Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?

Adam Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 865334)
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?

By rule, TC would continue. By intent as expressed by the NFHS, it seems to be up in the air.

OKREF Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 865334)
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?

The team control only applies to fouls on the offense on the throw in. When it was tipped the throw in was over and there was no team control, therefore unless the whistle happened when team A had the ball, it would be an AP.

JRutledge Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:07pm

Here is another element (sorry if someone said this already), we are not going to start a 10 second back court count if either B or A touches the ball in this situation, so that is why I do not know why we automatically give the ball back to Team A if an inadvertent whistle took place and the ball was essentially loose.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1