![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
NFHS, no RA. If I called anything, it would have been a block. In my opinion, the defense turns his torso to the side. If he stays still it is a charge. He was almost trying to avoid it, and didn't get all the way sideways.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
I wold go with 4-7-2.
Last edited by OKREF; Mon Dec 03, 2012 at 08:38pm. |
|
|||
|
NFHS
It's either a charge or nothing. Defender is there waiting in plenty of time, but steps away from the contact. I lean toward no call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
For NFHS I think I am going with Billy on this one. The contact is marginal to the offense but the defender is their with plenty of time in LGP prior to the shooter becoming airborne. He turns to absorb some of the contact which he is allowed by rule, but is still knocked over I don't think this constitutes marginal or incidental contact. The offense is responsible for contact once defender has LGP and remains in front of the play. I have a charge.
Would any of you be more likely to rule this a charge if it 10 feet further from the basket and a floater lay up instead of a dunk? |
|
|||
|
As opposed to 4-23-3?
4-23-3 says: After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status. b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent. c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, *provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane. e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Christmas Is Coming, Charge It ...
NFHS: Charge. (As an official I wouldn't have a problem with a no call. As one of the coaches in the gymnasium, I definitely would have a problem with a no call.)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Could the RA not apply under NCAA rules because this after an offensive rebound where the dribbler made an immediate move to the basket?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Stand in there and take it? Ouch! Easier said than done.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
|
No calls are still allowed if a secondary defender is in the RA if there is no illegal contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Charge or Block? | Dave9819 | Basketball | 12 | Fri Feb 24, 2012 02:44pm |
| What do you have (block/charge)? | ballgame99 | Basketball | 30 | Wed Feb 08, 2012 04:59pm |
| Block/Charge? | JohnDorian37 | Basketball | 16 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 01:48pm |
| Help with Block or Charge | cropduster | Basketball | 13 | Tue Nov 07, 2006 08:02am |
| Block/Charge | drinkeii | Basketball | 16 | Thu Dec 19, 2002 01:05am |