The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Trailblazers v. Bobcats: Block/Charge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93098-trailblazers-v-bobcats-block-charge.html)

APG Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:03pm

Trailblazers v. Bobcats: Block/Charge
 
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/IsduxTtYfsU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

For the level you work:

Block or charge? Incidental/marginal contact? Does the RA apply? If it does, does the contact on the play warrant a foul?

OKREF Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:10pm

NFHS, no RA. If I called anything, it would have been a block. In my opinion, the defense turns his torso to the side. If he stays still it is a charge. He was almost trying to avoid it, and didn't get all the way sideways.

JRutledge Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 864759)
NFHS, no RA. If I called anything, it would have been a block. In my opinion, the defense turns his torso to the side. If he stays still it is a charge. He was almost trying to avoid it, and didn't get all the way sideways.

What rules requirement does not allow the defender to turn to the side? By rule a player is allowed to absorb the contact.

Peace

OKREF Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 864773)
What rules requirement does not allow the defender to turn to the side? By rule a player is allowed to absorb the contact.

Peace

I wold go with 4-7-2.

grunewar Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 864759)
He was almost trying to avoid it, and didn't get all the way sideways.

He ain't no Shane Battier!

Stand in there and take it? Ouch! Easier said than done.

just another ref Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:40pm

NFHS

It's either a charge or nothing. Defender is there waiting in plenty of time, but steps away from the contact. I lean toward no call.

Raymond Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:44pm

No call. Contact is marginal and has no effect on the play.

OKREF Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 864781)
No call. Contact is marginal and has no effect on the play.

I think this also. If he stays in and takes torso to torso contact I have PC.

twocentsworth Mon Dec 03, 2012 08:47pm

In NCAA-M, that's a blocking foul...secondary defender on and/or in RA. Pretty easy call.

Raymond Mon Dec 03, 2012 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 864784)
In NCAA-M, that's a blocking foul...secondary defender on and/or in RA. Pretty easy call.

No calls are still allowed if a secondary defender is in the RA if there is no illegal contact.

JRutledge Mon Dec 03, 2012 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 864775)
I wold go with 4-7-2.

As opposed to 4-23-3?

4-23-3 says:

After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:

a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status.

b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent.

c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, *provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.

d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane.

e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.

Peace

BillyMac Mon Dec 03, 2012 09:15pm

Christmas Is Coming, Charge It ...
 
NFHS: Charge. (As an official I wouldn't have a problem with a no call. As one of the coaches in the gymnasium, I definitely would have a problem with a no call.)

APG Mon Dec 03, 2012 09:22pm

Could the RA not apply under NCAA rules because this after an offensive rebound where the dribbler made an immediate move to the basket?

JRutledge Mon Dec 03, 2012 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 864792)
Could the RA not apply under NCAA rules because this after an offensive rebound where the dribbler made an immediate move to the basket?

That is a good point, I did not even notice that part. BTW, I have nothing. I have more of a player that gets out of the way and did not affect the shot.

Peace

APG Mon Dec 03, 2012 09:29pm

I personally think this is a good no call at all levels. Defender is legal under NFHS rules, but bails out and makes what would have been illegal contact into marginal contact. NBA, this is a good no call IMO as well...RA applies since the play originated outside the lower defensive box, but even though the defender had his heels in the RA, the contact is marginal and doesn't warrant a foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1