![]() |
|
|
|||
False Double
Tonight, watching BV, A1 drives to the basket, commits what I thought was a charge against B1. Officials hesitates, really doesn't give a signal at all until he goes to the table, then reports a foul on B2, who, according to others, had come over the top in a block attempt.
My question, if you are the official on this play, and see B2 with the hack, followed by A1 with the charge, can you see yourself reporting both? My thought is that the charge ultimately kills the play, thereby nullifying any disadvantage caused by the contact on the block attempt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Come to think of it, I think this is a casebook play, or very similar to one. Yep 4.19.9 Situation A
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Tue Dec 04, 2012 at 11:40pm. |
|
|||
By rule, you could certainly come up with both since the defensive foul doesn't make the ball dead (continuous motion). However, both would have to be very substantial for me to actually do that...and to date it has never happened.
What happens more often than not is that the official either stays with the first one or sometimes goes with just the charge since it was probably the bigger more obvious foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
He's Just A Hack ...
Does the defensive "hack" change the motion of the offensive player to cause the charge?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I don't believe it does.
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
False Double Foul? | Toren | Basketball | 29 | Wed May 02, 2012 08:06am |
False Double? | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Dec 05, 2011 07:37pm |
False double, false multiple, double TF, bench personnel TF. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 14 | Fri Dec 17, 2010 04:27pm |
False Double? | budjones05 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:53pm |
False Multiple Foul/ False Double/etc.??? | sleebo | Basketball | 10 | Tue Jan 06, 2004 02:21am |