The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 03:53pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Wouldn't it be a violation the moment she touches it after it hits the rim since no one else touched it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Wouldn't it be a violation the moment she touches it after it hits the rim since no one else touched it?
Why (assuming she hadn't moved her pivot foot)?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:07pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why (assuming she hadn't moved her pivot foot)?

Won't the striking of the rim be her second dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:10pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why (assuming she hadn't moved her pivot foot)?
*A-1 dribbles, then stops. (One dribble.)
*A-1 "fires the pass", hits B's rim, and catches the ball.

By rule, two dribbles, right?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,253
4-4-5 A ball which touches ... the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.

1-7 an 1-10 define backboard and basket (which includes the ring) differently.

Maybe they mean them to be the same, but it's not what it says.

Of course, since a try ends when the ball touches the floor, and the backboard is the same as the floor, ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
4-4-5 A ball which touches ... the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.

1-7 an 1-10 define backboard and basket (which includes the ring) differently.

Maybe they mean them to be the same, but it's not what it says.

Of course, since a try ends when the ball touches the floor, and the backboard is the same as the floor, ...
Would it NOT be a try though since it is not her basket?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
How many of this exact same conversation do we need? Bizarre.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
I can understand the basket and backboard being separate entities in the frontcourt, but what could be the reasoning to do that with the backcourt? I have not been able to find a reference one way or the other.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Would it NOT be a try though since it is not her basket?
Yes, in this play.

But, I meant that last toungue-in-cheek comment more generally.

A2 launches a try. The horn sounds. The ball hits (a) the backboard or (b) the floor and then enters the basket.

Ruling?

I know what we'd all do (count it / don't count it), but the wording in the rule ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2012, 04:58pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
*A-1 dribbles, then stops. (One dribble.)
*A-1 "fires the pass", hits B's rim, and catches the ball.

By rule, two dribbles, right?
I agree with this interp. Just insert "ball bounces back to player" after "hits B's rim." That is where your second dribble starts but I wouldn't call it until A1 touches it again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Once in a lifetime situation SF Softball 14 Thu May 17, 2007 03:15pm
WSJ - The Call of a Lifetime For Basketball Referees Larks Basketball 1 Sun Nov 26, 2006 06:00pm
Once in a lifetime SF Softball 8 Thu May 12, 2005 11:04am
Lifetime mystery solved Junker Basketball 14 Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:38am
Umpire receives an offer of a lifetime mrm21711 Baseball 9 Thu Jul 29, 2004 08:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1