The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Weird play

So a situation was proposed and I'm not real sure.

A1 is trapped. In a panic he throws the ball off the official, who is standing on the court. A1 retrieves the ball. Legal? He has already ended his dribble.

I'm thinking this would be an illegal dribble as we are considered part of the floor. But at the same time, if an errant pass hits off of us, any player can retrieve the ball. This was not an errant pass, from situation described, it was a deliberate play.

Two officials have said this play is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
illegal dribble. Its no different than starting a dribble off the court, except they use us as a substitute 2x4.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:05am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Illegal dribble
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Double Dribble

The play you describe is illegal. Since the player had already ended their dribble, being the first to recover the ball after hitting the official would be a second dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:07am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
So a situation was proposed and I'm not real sure.

A1 is trapped. In a panic he throws the ball off the official, who is standing on the court. A1 retrieves the ball. Legal? He has already ended his dribble.

I'm thinking this would be an illegal dribble as we are considered part of the floor. But at the same time, if an errant pass hits off of us, any player can retrieve the ball. This was not an errant pass, from situation described, it was a deliberate play.

Two officials have said this play is legal.
In the rule book, is there any difference between an errant pass and a deliberate pass?

And where in the rule book does it say any player can retrieve an errant pass that hits off an official?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
... except they use us as a substitute 2x4.
Nice, that one made me lose it and laugh out loud in class!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the rule book, is there any difference between an errant pass and a deliberate pass?

And where in the rule book does it say any player can retrieve an errant pass that hits off an official?
You are correct, I said that incorrectly. I don't know what I was thinking
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:38am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,863
Chubby Checker Question ...

If he fumbled the ball, and then the ball subsequently struck an official, I believe that he would be allowed to go and pick up the ball (not starting a new dribble) without penalty. Am I correct in this assumption?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 01:24pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
You are correct, I said that incorrectly. I don't know what I was thinking
Whew....glad it was just a brain fart
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 01:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If he fumbled the ball, and then the ball subsequently struck an official, I believe that he would be allowed to go and pick up the ball (not starting a new dribble) without penalty. Am I correct in this assumption?
Billy, you don't know the rule?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If he fumbled the ball, and then the ball subsequently struck an official, I believe that he would be allowed to go and pick up the ball (not starting a new dribble) without penalty. Am I correct in this assumption?
When can a player not recover a fumble? That should answer your question.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 02:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,863
Once A Teacher, Always A Teacher ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Billy, you don't know the rule?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When can a player not recover a fumble? That should answer your question.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I believe that he would be allowed to go and pick up the ball (not starting a new dribble) without penalty.
Of course I know this rule. I'm just trying to cash in on a teachable moment for the newbies.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Looks like Texref now knows of two officials that he shouldn't seek advice from.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
This situation in the OP is similar to the ruling when a player, who has ended his/her dribble, throws the ball off of the opponents backboard/rim when in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Play 26 Year Gap Basketball 7 Mon May 16, 2011 10:05am
Weird Play gruberted Baseball 8 Sat May 24, 2008 08:33am
Weird play GrumpUmp Softball 3 Thu Jul 05, 2007 03:35pm
Weird Play nine01c Baseball 10 Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:08am
Weird play Indy_Ref Basketball 1 Tue Jan 11, 2000 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1