The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   WNBA: Jacket Removal and Toss (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92700-wnba-jacket-removal-toss.html)

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859180)
I don't think that warrants a second technical. Official absolutely blew the call in my opinion.

Blew what call? The one where the defender put her hand on top of the ball and caused a turnover?

JRutledge Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:14pm

I have no problem giving a second T on this at any level that I work. I guess I would have to hear what she said or how she said things after getting the first T. I would want my partner to give the second one, but hey act better if you do not want anyone to think of calling this. ;)

Peace

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859180)
I don't think that warrants a second technical. Official absolutely blew the call in my opinion.

First, I completely disagree with you about the call being missed.

Second, and most important (for me anyway)...are you saying that you would ignore unsporting behavior from a coach simply because you think your partner blew a call???

letemplay Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:42pm

Does the "hand is part of the ball" apply when defender is reaching across, and susequently makes contact with (39 sec frame), the offensive player's arm? I have to question that she was unable to get her shot off, as much due to the contact on her arm as the hand on the ball. Small chance for held ball call here after seeing it a few times. As for the 2nd T, I'll weigh in with yes for HS, but prob no for pros.

REFANDUMP Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 859187)
First, I completely disagree with you about the call being missed.

Second, and most important (for me anyway)...are you saying that you would ignore unsporting behavior from a coach simply because you think your partner blew a call???

I went back and looked at the play in stopped frames, and I'll have to agree with you. Contact was with the ball before any contact on the arm. Looked like a foul in full speed, and a whistle would have been incorrect.

Secondly, If I blow a call, I'll be patient before issuing a "T". I'll give the coach extra leeway in this situation. I've got my partners back if a "T" is warranted and my partner doesn't see the action that warrants the "T".

JRutledge Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 859188)
Does the "hand is part of the ball" apply when defender is reaching across, and susequently makes contact with (39 sec frame), the offensive player's arm? I have to question that she was unable to get her shot off, as much due to the contact on her arm as the hand on the ball. Small chance for held ball call here after seeing it a few times. As for the 2nd T, I'll weigh in with yes for HS, but prob no for pros.

It is not a foul because the player contacted the ball first and anything else would be incidental. It is that simple. No one is going to play defense on you and be expected to never contact you, ever.

Peace

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859189)
I went back and looked at the play in stopped frames, and I'll have to agree with you. Contact was with the ball before any contact on the arm. Looked like a foul in full speed, and a whistle would have been incorrect.

Secondly, If I blow a call, I'll be patient before issuing a "T". I'll give the coach extra leeway in this situation. I've got my partners back if a "T" is warranted and my partner doesn't see the action that warrants the "T".

Whew!

I was hoping that was what you meant...And I agree. If I think I "missed" a call, I will let a little more venting than usual take place - but nothing approaching the level of this lady!

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 859103)
Yes. And I think a coach would've gotten the gate in the NBA, too.

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 859105)
I don't think so...toss the jacket onto the court or in the stands sure. Toss is at your assistant coach? That's nothing.

I stand correct...NBA: Whack, get out

letemplay Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859192)
It is not a foul because the player contacted the ball first and anything else would be incidental. It is that simple. No one is going to play defense on you and be expected to never contact you, ever.

Peace

Thanks. Any chance for a held ball call here?

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 859209)
Thanks. Any chance for a held ball call here?

If you determined the player came back down with the ball, then a jump ball would be a proper call.

JRutledge Fri Oct 19, 2012 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 859211)
If you determined the player came back down with the ball, then a jump ball would be a proper call.

I would not even call that in high school where the rule is a little different. I think in real time this was just a good block.

Peace

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859212)
I would not even call that in high school where the rule is a little different. I think in real time this was just a good block.

Peace

I agree, I have a play on

Bad Zebra Fri Oct 19, 2012 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859181)
Blew what call? The one where the defender put her hand on top of the ball and caused a turnover?

I'm looking at it full screen, frozen at about :40. The defender has a hand full of wrist and clearly restricts the arm. Absolutely a whistle is correct here. No justification for coach COMING ON THE COURT and protesting, but I think she deserves a little leeway on her response.

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 859229)
I'm looking at it full screen, frozen at about :40. The defender has a hand full of wrist and clearly restricts the arm. Absolutely a whistle is correct here. No justification for coach COMING ON THE COURT and protesting, but I think she deserves a little leeway on her response.

:confused: You're calling a foul based on a frozen moment? Before the contact B1 capped the ball. As A1 tried to continue her shot her left hand started coming off the ball and that's when contact you are referring to occurred.

Bad Zebra Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859234)
:confused: You're calling a foul based on a frozen moment? Before the contact B1 capped the ball. As A1 tried to continue her shot her left hand started coming off the ball and that's when contact you are referring to occurred.

Nope. Im saying that a whistle looks justified with the benefit of slow mo and replay. Camera had a beautiful angle. The coach certainly had a case against the no-call so I'd cut her some slack on the response.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1