The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   WNBA: Jacket Removal and Toss (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92700-wnba-jacket-removal-toss.html)

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:24am

WNBA: Jacket Removal and Toss
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/5JkJXSP3AA8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Does that jacket removal and toss earn her a second T in your game?

WNBA Finals -- Lin Dunn, Indiana Fever coach, criticizes Minnesota Lynx coach Cheryl Reeve for actions in Game 2 - ESPN

Quote:

INDIANAPOLIS -- Indiana coach Lin Dunn criticized the coach of the Minnesota Lynx on Thursday, accusing her of a "lack of respect" for an outburst that seemed to spur the Lynx to a win in the WNBA Finals.

Dunn said she wasn't amused by Minnesota coach Cheryl Reeve's meltdown on Wednesday night. Ignited by Reeve's technical foul and subsequent jacket toss, Minnesota turned up the intensity in the second half to pull away for an 83-71 win in Game 2 to even the series at one game apiece. Game 3 is in Indianapolis on Friday.

Dunn said she thought Reeve should have been ejected because the wildest part of the tantrum came after the technical.

"I guess the thing that concerns me is that after she got her first technical, then she proceeded to take her jacket off, throw her jacket," Dunn said. "In my opinion, that should have been reason for a second technical and removal, and they (the officials) did not do that, and of course, she was able to incite the crowd.

"There's no doubt in my mind that her behavior after the first technical warranted ejection, and I was very disappointed that the officials allowed her to in some ways, you know, just kind of a lack of respect for the game and lack of respect for them. I was disappointed in the whole affair."

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:32am

No doubt where I work a 2nd T would be expected.

bob jenkins Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:42am

Very likely.

MD Longhorn Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:44am

Heck yes. This was an embarrassment to her self, her team, and her sport.

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859087)
No doubt where I work a 2nd T would be expected.

Especially since, now that I watched the entire video, that was a great no-call by the official :D

twocentsworth Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:53am

Nope. That is not egregious enough for me at the college level. It was not directed at the official, was not a prolonged action, and her staff got her under control pretty quickly.

If this is a HS game, then yes....

(Let the criticism begin).....

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:54am

Absolutely...and I would have no problem giving her the 2nd one myself had I called the first one.

Rich Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:59am

Yes. And I think a coach would've gotten the gate in the NBA, too.

tref Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:03am

Ijs
 
http://ncaambb.arbitersports.com/Gro...sert_FINAL.pdf

Appendix III

4. emphatically
removing one’s coat in response to a call/no-call or throwing
equipment or clothing on to the floor


This year the emphasis is apparently on:
1. Simply removing the coat emphatically.
2. Throwing equipment.
3. If the coat is already off, throwing it.

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 859103)
Yes. And I think a coach would've gotten the gate in the NBA, too.

I don't think so...toss the jacket onto the court or in the stands sure. Toss is at your assistant coach? That's nothing.

Eastshire Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:06am

Come on, all she did was vigorously hand her jacket to an assistant. :)

Seriously though, I wouldn't have categorized that as tossing or throwing the jacket. It simply didn't go far enough and it went straight to an assistant coach who caught it without so much as a second thought.

For the high school level, I think the fit probably lasted long enough for a second T. For professional ball, I wouldn't expect a second T here.

I expect emotional responses to Ts and I don't want to pile on. If the jacket was slammed to the floor or launched across the floor, I'd think differently.

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 859106)
Come on, all she did was vigorously hand her jacket to an assistant. :)

Seriously though, I wouldn't have categorized that as tossing or throwing the jacket. It simply didn't go far enough and it went straight to an assistant coach who caught it without so much as a second thought.

For the high school level, I think the fit probably lasted long enough for a second T. For professional ball, I wouldn't expect a second T here.

I expect emotional responses to Ts and I don't want to pile on. If the jacket was slammed to the floor or launched across the floor, I'd think differently.

Do you really think she "aimed" it at her assistant?

Eastshire Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 859115)
Do you really think she "aimed" it at her assistant?

Yes, I think she does. Watch it again. She takes it off. Starts to throw it at the end line, thinks better of it, stops, turns, and throws it to the assistant.

Multiple Sports Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:02am

HS / NCAA - yes

WNBA - no (especially if it is female )....now you think I'm kidding listen to this.

In the NCAA - W handouts ( I work men's but saw this at a small college clinic), I guess bench decorum is a POE. Well the picture of a coach coaching on the court is a WOMAN ( no technical), but the picturre of a coach
screaming/ being demonstrative ont he court is a MAN.....you don't think the rules committee did that on purpose ?????


Makes you wanna go hmmmmmmmmm !!!!!!!

BigBaldGuy Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 859099)
Nope. That is not egregious enough for me at the college level. It was not directed at the official, was not a prolonged action, and her staff got her under control pretty quickly.

If this is a HS game, then yes....

(Let the criticism begin).....

At the Women's College level the tossing of the jacket is a separate act from the initial whack for arguing...two whacks.

How egregious do you want it to be? The NCAA said it really wants to clean up coaches’ behavior...you better whack that this year or nothing will change.

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 859121)
HS / NCAA - yes

WNBA - no (especially if it is female )....now you think I'm kidding listen to this.

I don't think that it earns a T at the NBA level either

Quote:


In the NCAA - W handouts ( I work men's but saw this at a small college clinic), I guess bench decorum is a POE. Well the picture of a coach coaching on the court is a WOMAN ( no technical), but the picturre of a coach
screaming/ being demonstrative ont he court is a MAN.....you don't think the rules committee did that on purpose ?????


Makes you wanna go hmmmmmmmmm !!!!!!!
No

Rich Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:34am

WNBA fines Minnesota Lynx coach Cheryl Reeve for coat throw in Finals' Game 2 - ESPN

Multiple Sports Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 859131)
I don't think that it earns a T at the NBA level either



No

Don't be so nieve my friend.......if the Women's Committe could come up with 96 women officials they would do it in a heartbeat......

I have seen letters from more than one state asking assigners for minorities and women to work state tournaments, you really don't think the NCAA -W Committee feels the same way ??????

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 859135)
Don't be so nieve my friend.......if the Women's Committe could come up with 96 women officials they would do it in a heartbeat......

I have seen letters from more than one state asking assigners for minorities and women to work state tournaments, you really don't think the NCAA -W Committee feels the same way ??????

I'm only addressing your point that there's some nefarious reason behind the gender of a faceless picture addressing bench decorum.

Multiple Sports Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 859137)
I'm only addressing your point that there's some nefarious reason behind the gender of a faceless picture addressing bench decorum.

Fair enough my friend.......

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 859106)
...
I expect emotional responses to Ts and I don't want to pile on. If the jacket was slammed to the floor or launched across the floor, I'd think differently.

Why do expect emotional responses to a 'T'? Both the player and the coach got T'd on a play that the official absolutely got right. So after being T'd for inappropriate behavior they should be allotted more inappropriate behavior?

Eastshire Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859149)
Why do expect emotional responses to a 'T'? Both the player and the coach got T'd on a play that the official absolutely got right. So after being T'd for inappropriate behavior they should be allotted more inappropriate behavior?

They are already acting irrationally. Irrational people confronted with that irrationality are going to react with more irrationality.

Do you really expect them to suddenly become calm?

tref Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 859153)
They are already acting irrationally. Irrational people confronted with that irrationality are going to react with more irrationality.

Do you really expect them to suddenly become calm?

If they know the 2nd T is coming (maybe not calm but more self control) Id say yes.
If they know they can get away with it, obviously not.

Adam Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 859153)
They are already acting irrationally. Irrational people confronted with that irrationality are going to react with more irrationality.

Do you really expect them to suddenly become calm?

Yes, yes I do.

Remarkably, they usually do.

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 859153)
They are already acting irrationally. Irrational people confronted with that irrationality are going to react with more irrationality.

Do you really expect them to suddenly become calm?

I've only ever had 1 coach who didn't immediately turn it down after getting hit with a Tech, so the norm for me is that they are more than capable of suddenly becoming calm.

That 1 coach I speak of received a 2nd T for his actions.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:54pm

For the Jacket, no. For other stuff (yelling along with it), perhaps. Just not for removing the jacket and throwing it to her bench/seat.

Eastshire Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859159)
I've only ever had 1 coach who didn't immediately turn it down after getting hit with a Tech, so the norm for me is that they are more than capable of suddenly becoming calm.

That 1 coach I speak of received a 2nd T for his actions.

Sounds like it's one of those things that vary with locations then.

zm1283 Fri Oct 19, 2012 01:11pm

In high school, this would earn a second technical from me.

I don't know about the college level or professional basketball. Just from watching D1 basketball, coaches often get away with murder and officials don't penalize them, so I have my doubts that a lot of D1 men's officials would penalize the jacket toss. Now if it were accompanied by yelling and other demonstrative behavior, then I could see another technical.

Adam Fri Oct 19, 2012 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 859169)
Sounds like it's one of those things that vary with locations then.

It probably varies with enforcement. I've only had to issue a second T one time, in a summer travel game to an assistant coach.

Even this week I had a pretty emotional coach get a T, but he sat right down. If amateur coaches are capable of controling their emotions, the professionals can do it, too.

REFANDUMP Fri Oct 19, 2012 01:49pm

I don't think that warrants a second technical. Official absolutely blew the call in my opinion.

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859180)
I don't think that warrants a second technical. Official absolutely blew the call in my opinion.

Blew what call? The one where the defender put her hand on top of the ball and caused a turnover?

JRutledge Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:14pm

I have no problem giving a second T on this at any level that I work. I guess I would have to hear what she said or how she said things after getting the first T. I would want my partner to give the second one, but hey act better if you do not want anyone to think of calling this. ;)

Peace

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859180)
I don't think that warrants a second technical. Official absolutely blew the call in my opinion.

First, I completely disagree with you about the call being missed.

Second, and most important (for me anyway)...are you saying that you would ignore unsporting behavior from a coach simply because you think your partner blew a call???

letemplay Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:42pm

Does the "hand is part of the ball" apply when defender is reaching across, and susequently makes contact with (39 sec frame), the offensive player's arm? I have to question that she was unable to get her shot off, as much due to the contact on her arm as the hand on the ball. Small chance for held ball call here after seeing it a few times. As for the 2nd T, I'll weigh in with yes for HS, but prob no for pros.

REFANDUMP Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 859187)
First, I completely disagree with you about the call being missed.

Second, and most important (for me anyway)...are you saying that you would ignore unsporting behavior from a coach simply because you think your partner blew a call???

I went back and looked at the play in stopped frames, and I'll have to agree with you. Contact was with the ball before any contact on the arm. Looked like a foul in full speed, and a whistle would have been incorrect.

Secondly, If I blow a call, I'll be patient before issuing a "T". I'll give the coach extra leeway in this situation. I've got my partners back if a "T" is warranted and my partner doesn't see the action that warrants the "T".

JRutledge Fri Oct 19, 2012 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 859188)
Does the "hand is part of the ball" apply when defender is reaching across, and susequently makes contact with (39 sec frame), the offensive player's arm? I have to question that she was unable to get her shot off, as much due to the contact on her arm as the hand on the ball. Small chance for held ball call here after seeing it a few times. As for the 2nd T, I'll weigh in with yes for HS, but prob no for pros.

It is not a foul because the player contacted the ball first and anything else would be incidental. It is that simple. No one is going to play defense on you and be expected to never contact you, ever.

Peace

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859189)
I went back and looked at the play in stopped frames, and I'll have to agree with you. Contact was with the ball before any contact on the arm. Looked like a foul in full speed, and a whistle would have been incorrect.

Secondly, If I blow a call, I'll be patient before issuing a "T". I'll give the coach extra leeway in this situation. I've got my partners back if a "T" is warranted and my partner doesn't see the action that warrants the "T".

Whew!

I was hoping that was what you meant...And I agree. If I think I "missed" a call, I will let a little more venting than usual take place - but nothing approaching the level of this lady!

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 859103)
Yes. And I think a coach would've gotten the gate in the NBA, too.

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 859105)
I don't think so...toss the jacket onto the court or in the stands sure. Toss is at your assistant coach? That's nothing.

I stand correct...NBA: Whack, get out

letemplay Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859192)
It is not a foul because the player contacted the ball first and anything else would be incidental. It is that simple. No one is going to play defense on you and be expected to never contact you, ever.

Peace

Thanks. Any chance for a held ball call here?

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 859209)
Thanks. Any chance for a held ball call here?

If you determined the player came back down with the ball, then a jump ball would be a proper call.

JRutledge Fri Oct 19, 2012 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 859211)
If you determined the player came back down with the ball, then a jump ball would be a proper call.

I would not even call that in high school where the rule is a little different. I think in real time this was just a good block.

Peace

APG Fri Oct 19, 2012 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859212)
I would not even call that in high school where the rule is a little different. I think in real time this was just a good block.

Peace

I agree, I have a play on

Bad Zebra Fri Oct 19, 2012 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859181)
Blew what call? The one where the defender put her hand on top of the ball and caused a turnover?

I'm looking at it full screen, frozen at about :40. The defender has a hand full of wrist and clearly restricts the arm. Absolutely a whistle is correct here. No justification for coach COMING ON THE COURT and protesting, but I think she deserves a little leeway on her response.

Raymond Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 859229)
I'm looking at it full screen, frozen at about :40. The defender has a hand full of wrist and clearly restricts the arm. Absolutely a whistle is correct here. No justification for coach COMING ON THE COURT and protesting, but I think she deserves a little leeway on her response.

:confused: You're calling a foul based on a frozen moment? Before the contact B1 capped the ball. As A1 tried to continue her shot her left hand started coming off the ball and that's when contact you are referring to occurred.

Bad Zebra Fri Oct 19, 2012 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859234)
:confused: You're calling a foul based on a frozen moment? Before the contact B1 capped the ball. As A1 tried to continue her shot her left hand started coming off the ball and that's when contact you are referring to occurred.

Nope. Im saying that a whistle looks justified with the benefit of slow mo and replay. Camera had a beautiful angle. The coach certainly had a case against the no-call so I'd cut her some slack on the response.

Rich Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 859239)
Nope. Im saying that a whistle looks justified with the benefit of slow mo and replay. Camera had a beautiful angle. The coach certainly had a case against the no-call so I'd cut her some slack on the response.

It's not justified. The post above explains why it wasn't a foul.

On another note, I've cleaned up the thread. Before anyone calls anyone an idiot again, please note that we'll delete those types of posts. They don't do anything for this board.

Camron Rust Sat Oct 20, 2012 02:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFANDUMP (Post 859180)
I don't think that warrants a second technical. Official absolutely blew the call in my opinion.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859181)
Blew what call? The one where the defender put her hand on top of the ball and caused a turnover?

The call was missed. This isn't even close.

The defender may have touched the ball at the beginning but when the shooter tried to take the ball up, the only contact from the defender was across the shooter's forearm and not on the ball at all any more. The defender didn't stop the movement of the ball, they stopped the movement of the arm.

If the hand had also remained on the ball AND the arm while the shooter was going up, I could agree with no foul, but the defender was only holding down the arm.

Maineac Sat Oct 20, 2012 03:17am

Quote:

Dunn said she thought Reeve should have been ejected because the wildest part of the tantrum came after the technical.

"I guess the thing that concerns me is that after she got her first technical, then she proceeded to take her jacket off, throw her jacket," Dunn said. "In my opinion, that should have been reason for a second technical and removal, and they (the officials) did not do that, and of course, she was able to incite the crowd.

"There's no doubt in my mind that her behavior after the first technical warranted ejection, and I was very disappointed that the officials allowed her to in some ways, you know, just kind of a lack of respect for the game and lack of respect for them. I was disappointed in the whole affair."


"Unless, of course, it was I who did this. In that case this wouldn't have been a problem and I would see this as just getting a "T" to fire up my team," said the other coach....

Bad Zebra Sat Oct 20, 2012 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 859247)
... Before anyone calls anyone an idiot again.....

:confused:

Bad Zebra Sat Oct 20, 2012 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859251)
The call was missed. This isn't even close.

The defender may have touched the ball at the beginning but when the shooter tried to take the ball up, the only contact from the defender was across the shooter's forearm and not on the ball at all any more. The defender didn't stop the movement of the ball, they stopped the movement of the arm.

If the hand had also remained on the ball AND the arm while the shooter was going up, I could agree with no foul, but the defender was only holding down the arm.

This is exactly how I view it and based on that, I'm giving the coach a little leeway. She absolutely should be rung up based on her initial response, but I'd be hesitant to ring up a second T and toss her. IMHO, she had a valid gripe initially.

BillyMac Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:13am

The Wrist Is Part Of The Ball ??? In Who's World ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859251)
The call was missed. This isn't even close. The defender may have touched the ball at the beginning but when the shooter tried to take the ball up, the only contact from the defender was across the shooter's forearm and not on the ball at all any more. The defender didn't stop the movement of the ball, they stopped the movement of the arm.

I am also charging a foul on this play.

deecee Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 859268)
I am also charging a foul on this play.

How much would you charge for this foul?

BillyMac Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:27am

Lets' Bring Two Threads Together ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 859269)
How much would you charge for this foul?

Not sure, haven't checked the 2012-13 price list. But I do know that there would be a 7% assignment fee.

JRutledge Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859251)
The call was missed. This isn't even close.

The defender may have touched the ball at the beginning but when the shooter tried to take the ball up, the only contact from the defender was across the shooter's forearm and not on the ball at all any more. The defender didn't stop the movement of the ball, they stopped the movement of the arm.

If the hand had also remained on the ball AND the arm while the shooter was going up, I could agree with no foul, but the defender was only holding down the arm.

So let me get this straight. You are going to call a foul on a defender that clearly contacted the ball first or mostly the ball, but had some contact with an arm at some point in the process of the play?

Peace

BillyMac Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:44am

Hyperbole Is The Word Of The Day On My Word Of The Day Calendar ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859275)
So let me get this straight. You are going to call a foul on a defender that clearly contacted the ball first or mostly the ball, but had some contact with an arm at some point in the process of the play?

Some? She almost tore her arm out of it's socket. Wait? Almost? No. She actually did tear her arm out of it's socket, and then waved the detatched arm around to show the crowd. Yeah. That's better.

Camron Rust Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859275)
So let me get this straight. You are going to call a foul on a defender that clearly contacted the ball first or mostly the ball, but had some contact with an arm at some point in the process of the play?

Peace

Yes. Contacting the ball first doesn't grant the right to the defender to hold down the arm of the shooter (actually pull the shooters arm off the ball) after contacting the ball. She didn't just have "some contact" on the arm. That is the primary contact, not the earlier ball contact.

If the initial ball contact had knocked the ball free, then the arm contact would be incidental, but it didn't. Since the shooter maintained control of the ball after the ball contact and was able to start a shot that was only stopped due to the arm contact, it can't be anything but a foul.

Raymond Sat Oct 20, 2012 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859251)
The call was missed. This isn't even close.

...

The No-call was absolutely correct. I wouldn't even think twice about it, neither would any of the supervisors I work for.

Camron Rust Sat Oct 20, 2012 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859311)
The No-call was absolutely correct. I wouldn't even think twice about it, neither would any of the supervisors I work for.

So, your supervisors like to allow the defender to pull the shooter's hand off the ball by hold onto their arm? Really?

JRutledge Sat Oct 20, 2012 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 859277)
Some? She almost tore her arm out of it's socket. Wait? Almost? No. She actually did tear her arm out of it's socket. Yeah. That's better.

If that is the case, why did the player not fall? That is some kind of contact to stay on your feet. Again the rules give the defender the same right to the ball. I see more contact on held ball situations than that play.

Peace

JRutledge Sat Oct 20, 2012 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859311)
The No-call was absolutely correct. I wouldn't even think twice about it, neither would any of the supervisors I work for.

Not only that, as a state clinician I would love to praise an official that did not call that a foul.

To call that is at best a high school call. Any contact, call the foul no matter how the contact took place. ;)

Peace

BillyMac Sat Oct 20, 2012 07:04pm

Saturday, October 20, 2012: Hyperbole ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 859277)
Some? She almost tore her arm out of it's socket. Wait? Almost? No. She actually did tear her arm out of it's socket, and then waved the detatched arm around to show the crowd. Yeah. That's better.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859317)
If that is the case, why did the player not fall? That is some kind of contact to stay on your feet.

Why did the player not bleed to death?

rockyroad Sat Oct 20, 2012 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859315)
So, your supervisors like to allow the defender to pull the shooter's hand off the ball by hold onto their arm? Really?

If that was what happened, then a foul should be called. But the defender clearly has her hand on the ball and the shooter tries to muscle the ball up through the defenders hand/arm. I'm not punishing the defender for that. If you want to, go ahead. That's A great no-call in my book.

Raymond Sat Oct 20, 2012 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859315)
So, your supervisors like to allow the defender to pull the shooter's hand off the ball by hold onto their arm? Really?

What does that have to do with this play? I'm not calling a foul on a defender just b/c the offensive player can't rip through the defender's capping of the ball.

Rich Sat Oct 20, 2012 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859318)
Not only that, as a state clinician I would love to praise an official that did not call that a foul.

To call that is at best a high school call. Any contact, call the foul no matter how the contact took place. ;)

Peace

I despise the phrase "high school call". It reeks of big-timing.

JRutledge Sat Oct 20, 2012 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 859334)
I despise the phrase "high school call". It reeks of big-timing.

OK, it is a JV call.

Either way, this is about the only place that call would be acceptable (and not acceptable where I live).

Peace

JRutledge Sat Oct 20, 2012 09:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 859321)
Why did the player not bleed to death?

Because the ball does not bleed. ;)

Peace

JetMetFan Sun Oct 21, 2012 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 859099)
Nope. That is not egregious enough for me at the college level. It was not directed at the official, was not a prolonged action, and her staff got her under control pretty quickly.

If this is a HS game, then yes....

(Let the criticism begin).....

So by that logic if she turned, picked up a chair and launched it behind the bench you wouldn't have tossed her, either? I mean, it wouldn't have been directed at an official, wouldn't have been prolonged and we can assume her staff would've gotten her to calm down pretty quickly.

As BigBald said, how egregious do you want it to be?

Camron Rust Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859333)
What does that have to do with this play? I'm not calling a foul on a defender just b/c the offensive player can't rip through the defender's capping of the ball.

The defender didn't cap the ball, they touched it and capped the arm.

Raymond Sun Oct 21, 2012 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859355)
The defender didn't cap the ball, they touched it and capped the arm.

I would suggest either better video quality or a new prescription.

In fact the defender's hand made no downward motion until the ball came loose. Her hand initially moved up with the ball and then when the ball came loose is the first time her hand moved downward. I honestly have no idea what the heck you are looking at.

Camron Rust Sun Oct 21, 2012 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859364)
I would suggest either better video quality or a new prescription.

In fact the defender's hand made no downward motion until the ball came loose. Her hand initially moved up with the ball and then when the ball came loose is the first time her hand moved downward. I honestly have no idea what the heck you are looking at.

The direction the defender's hand moves is not relevant. The ball continued UP afterwards...not much, but UP while the shooters arm stayed down as a result of behind held down. That is a very reliable symptom of the contact being on the arm instead of the ball. Plus, the defender isn't permitted to contact the arm to get to the ball....that point is indisputable unless you close your eyes when watching the video. They can make contact with a hand that is one the ball, but not the arm.

BillyMac Sun Oct 21, 2012 04:52pm

One Video, Thousand Words ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 859364)
In fact the defender's hand made no downward motion until the ball came loose. Her hand initially moved up with the ball and then when the ball came loose is the first time her hand moved downward.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859366)
The ball continued up afterwards, not much, but up while the shooters arm stayed down as a result of behind held down. That is a very reliable symptom of the contact being on the arm instead of the ball. Plus, the defender isn't permitted to contact the arm to get to the ball, that point is indisputable. They can make contact with a hand that is one the ball, but not the arm.

With such a difference of opinion, it's too bad that we don't have video to watch to see who is correct.

rockyroad Sun Oct 21, 2012 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859366)
I suggest you take up a career in writing fictional novels. You're making stuff up. The direction the defender's hand moves is not relevant. The ball continued UP afterwards...not much, but UP while the shooters arm stayed down as a result of behind held down. That is a very reliable symptom of the contact being on the arm instead of the ball. Plus, the defender isn't permitted to contact the arm to get to the ball....that point is indisputable unless you close your eyes when watching the video. They can make contact with a hand that is one the ball, but not the arm.

The defender didn't contact the arm to get to the ball...the defender got her hand on the ball and then the shooter tried to muscle her way through the defender, undoubtedly hoping she had an official there who would make such a call. Good thing for the game that those officials knew better.

Camron Rust Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 859380)
The defender didn't contact the arm to get to the ball...the defender got her hand on the ball and then the shooter tried to muscle her way through the defender, undoubtedly hoping she had an official there who would make such a call. Good thing for the game that those officials knew better.

Unfortunate for the game that the officials don't call the obvious foul and that there are others that back them up.

JRutledge Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859390)
Unfortunate for the game that the officials don't call the obvious foul and that there are others that back them up.

Well if it was obvious, why are there many officials saying this should not be called? Why are you correct on this situation and everyone else is wrong? It really should not be a matter how many feel one way or the other, but it is telling when not everyone even can agree on this contact. This is why it is called, "judgment" I guess.

Peace

JetMetFan Mon Oct 22, 2012 04:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 859391)
Well if it was obvious, why are there many officials saying this should not be called? Why are you correct on this situation and everyone else is wrong? It really should not be a matter how many feel one way or the other, but it is telling when not everyone even can agree on this contact. This is why it is called, "judgment" I guess.

Peace

I'm with you from your earlier posts. H.S. I can see calling a foul but even then I'm iffy. College and Pro? Play on. Defender got the ball first and then it's a case of one strong person trying to hold the ball down (defense) while another tries to raise it towards the goal (offense). At any rate I'm not going to use "obvious" on this situation. If we're all debating it my guess is it really isn't obvious.

I can see the coach being upset because of whatever angle she has and the fact she's a coach but she doesn't get to go berserk, even if I think my partners or I may have missed the call.

Welpe Mon Oct 22, 2012 05:58am

Let's keep the personal stuff out of it and focus on discussing the play.

BillyMac Mon Oct 22, 2012 06:42am

Just Kidding ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 859400)
Let's keep the personal stuff out of it and focus on discussing the play.

Better yet. Let's have a poll.

Raymond Mon Oct 22, 2012 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 859366)
The direction the defender's hand moves is not relevant. ...

Again, you need to make up your mind. I'm still trying figure out how the defender ripped A1's hand off the ball while at the same time maintaining contact with the ball.

APG Mon Oct 22, 2012 07:56am

Dirk Nowitzki said it best:

Shut it down, let's go home.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1