The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
OK, I'm clear on the fact that an airborne rebounder may begin a dribble without establishing a pivot foot.
Since 4-15-3 says, "The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted", is it correct to maintain, therefore, that a player who has not yet dribbled (has a dribble left) may not jump into the air then begin a dribble since his pivot foot had been lifted?

Thank you in advance for your consideration of this issue.
Freddy,

I think you can answer this one yourself. What can a player with possession of the ball and both feet (or even one) on the ground who then becomes airborne do?

He only has 2 options. What are they?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 01:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Freddy,

I think you can answer this one yourself. What can a player with possession of the ball and both feet (or even one) on the ground who then becomes airborne do?

He only has 2 options. What are they?
Was there a rule change? I'm counting three.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Was there a rule change? I'm counting three.
Still 3 outs...

Wondering would that 3rd apply in college since OOB is not involved??
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 03:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Still 3 outs...

Wondering would that 3rd apply in college since OOB is not involved??
How exactly is the NCAA rule worded?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
How exactly is the NCAA rule worded?
Is that rhetorical?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Fundamental point....

ALL traveling violations involve movement a foot that is in contact with the floor while the player is holding the ball.

(Noting the one exception from the case book that illegalizes an attempt to circumvent the rules).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 13, 2012, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
5-12.1.c timeout not granted to a player or coach when an airborne players momentum is carring him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt. case play A.R. 155
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Was there a rule change? I'm counting three.
What 3? and @#$@$# TO's don't count
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 01:54pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
IThinkIGotThisONe

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Freddy,

I think you can answer this one yourself. What can a player with possession of the ball and both feet (or even one) on the ground who then becomes airborne do?

He only has 2 options. What are they?
Shoot.
Pass.
Request a timeout.

(Just so you don't think I'm totally ignorant )


P.S. All this comes from a note I put next to 4-15-3 ("can't jump into air then dribble"). I now realize I was incorrect when I impressed that same idea upon the sitch with the airborne rebounder beginning a dribble. All of which will serve as a good example for the rookies I was working with -- that it's OK to push back on a rules statement...then let the book settle it. I'm good with that.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 02:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'd say you owe him a beverage.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 03:17pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
From the Land of Skyblue Waters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I'd say you owe him a beverage.
I'll buy him a pitcher of daft beer.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
P.S. All this comes from a note I put next to 4-15-3 ("can't jump into air then dribble"). I now realize I was incorrect when I impressed that same idea upon the sitch with the airborne rebounder beginning a dribble. All of which will serve as a good example for the rookies I was working with -- that it's OK to push back on a rules statement...then let the book settle it. I'm good with that.
Maybe I'm being my usual daft self but I don't see the complication here. The rule and case study applies to a ball handler WHO already has possession AND one or both feet on the ground. It never covers a player who gains possession with BOTH feet off the ground.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 02:52pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Jim Brown, "Do you see it?" Jake, "I see it! I see the light!"

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Maybe I'm being my usual daft self but . . .
No, it's me that was daft.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I don't see the complication here.
I don't anymore either, as the clarity of the responses have solved my daftness (daftheit? daftitude? daftnation? daftism? daftimony?)

Not the first time I wasn't right about something. Probably not the last either.
Thanx, responders.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
I think that's why they put the play there. Too many think either that all violations are treated as "only penalize the first" or as "double" when there are several combinations that can happen depending on the type of violations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble after dribble ended. Ball fall on the floor mendi Basketball 5 Fri Nov 13, 2009 01:13pm
If in the middle of dribble the ball came to rest on floor mendi Basketball 15 Thu Aug 06, 2009 04:17pm
Touching ball to the floor fiasco Basketball 2 Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:33pm
Touching ball to floor sj Basketball 19 Sat Jun 16, 2007 04:17pm
Touching Ball To Floor Sven Basketball 5 Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1