![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
That statement pertains to the specific play (caught the pass, landed & jumped) not to be applied to rebounding where the player has not touched the wood while holding the ball.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Fri Oct 12, 2012 at 09:58am. |
|
|||
|
Therefore...
Quote:
Since 4-15-3 says, "The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted", is it correct to maintain, therefore, that a player who has not yet dribbled (has a dribble left) may not jump into the air then begin a dribble since his pivot foot had been lifted? Thank you in advance for your consideration of this issue.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. Last edited by APG; Fri Oct 12, 2012 at 01:44pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think you can answer this one yourself. What can a player with possession of the ball and both feet (or even one) on the ground who then becomes airborne do? He only has 2 options. What are they?
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Still 3 outs...
Wondering would that 3rd apply in college since OOB is not involved??
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
IThinkIGotThisONe
Quote:
Pass. Request a timeout. (Just so you don't think I'm totally ignorant )P.S. All this comes from a note I put next to 4-15-3 ("can't jump into air then dribble"). I now realize I was incorrect when I impressed that same idea upon the sitch with the airborne rebounder beginning a dribble. All of which will serve as a good example for the rookies I was working with -- that it's OK to push back on a rules statement...then let the book settle it. I'm good with that.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
From the Land of Skyblue Waters
I'll buy him a pitcher of daft beer.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Jim Brown, "Do you see it?" Jake, "I see it! I see the light!"
No, it's me that was daft.
I don't anymore either, as the clarity of the responses have solved my daftness (daftheit? daftitude? daftnation? daftism? daftimony?) Not the first time I wasn't right about something. Probably not the last either. Thanx, responders.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
I think that's why they put the play there. Too many think either that all violations are treated as "only penalize the first" or as "double" when there are several combinations that can happen depending on the type of violations.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Fumble after dribble ended. Ball fall on the floor | mendi | Basketball | 5 | Fri Nov 13, 2009 01:13pm |
| If in the middle of dribble the ball came to rest on floor | mendi | Basketball | 15 | Thu Aug 06, 2009 04:17pm |
| Touching ball to the floor | fiasco | Basketball | 2 | Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:33pm |
| Touching ball to floor | sj | Basketball | 19 | Sat Jun 16, 2007 04:17pm |
| Touching Ball To Floor | Sven | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:13pm |