![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I have addressed this
Quote:
Was he guarding him then turned his back to A2 for a possible rebound? Once you obtain LGP you do not have to continue to face him. Still have a charge. Your last one could be a block. I would have to see it in real time. But he does not have LGP and if his foot is not down on the ground he is not stationary! You can't have it both ways. This is similar to a classic secondary defender. B2 moves to guard A1 driving to the lane but does not have two feet down when contact occurs in the torso. Block! NO LGP. Again if LGP on a stationary player is not required, what do you have when B2 moves to guard A2 (never having LGP to begin with) lands with one foot in and one foot out of bounds when contact occurs in the torso? He is a stationary player without LGP. You should have a block. Now if the same thing occurs with both feet in, you have a charge. What's the difference? Hmmm? Let me see? Oh, the stationary player had LGP in one case but not the other. So yes, in SOME cases a stationary defender needs LGP. You guys are making blanket statements that do not apply in all situations. I am not. I am saying that SOME TIMES A STATIONARY PLAYER NEEDS LGP. The rule book backs me up!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
Quote:
So, you're saying that in my two scenarios, B1 is guilty of a block only if he's facing his opponent. Let change them again, to see how you rule. In my first scenario, B1 lifts one foot just prior to being plowed by A2. He never turns to face A1, but he never leaves his spot on the floor. He merely lifts his foot. Are you saying that he's moving because his foot is in the air? My issues are: 1. No where does it say a player with a foot on the line has an illegal position on the court. 2. No where does it define "stationary" as having both feet on the floor. Without this case play, you would be virtually alone in this discussion here, as no where else due the rules come close to implying that LGP is required for a player who is not moving from his spot on the court. The question seems to be whether this case is saying B1's spot on the court is not legal if he's got a foot on the line.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
And...
Quote:
LGP allows a player to move but it also can be applied to a stationary player in some instances. Your are confusing two rules. You and others are inferring that LGP applies only to a moving player because of the title in which the term falls under. But you can guard someone from a stationary position. Therefore it can in LIMITED instances apply to a stationary player. Nothing in the rule book refutes this principle. O Let me say it again. I would not rule a block on the defender if he is not facing his opponent when he lifts his foot! He has a right to the spot on the floor as you have said. If he has LGP and lifts his foot I still would not necessarily call a block. He can move to maintain LGP. What you and others are failing to differentiate is the difference between obtaining and maintaining LGP. Movement is allow to maintain LGP. However to obtain you have to have both feet on the floor and facing your opponent. That's straight out of the rulebook. And you say it doesn't apply to a stationary player? I'm going to do what you and others have done and infer from the title. Hey if you can do it so can I ![]() To end this debate show me in black and white where it says "LGP NEVER APPLIES TO A STATIONARY PLAYER". If you can't then you are basing it on your interpretation and are inferring from what is written. I respect you opinion. I just dont agree with it. Also I suspect that we both would come to the same judgment in most of these plays, but just using different logic. I am not making blanket statements here. You are in saying that LGP never applies to a stationary player. But honestly, how are you going to rule on this play and using what rule? A1 has the ball and is running up the court near the sideline. He beats his opponent (B1). B2 is guarding A2 and sees his teammate(B1) has been beaten and moves to guard A1. B2 beats A1 to the spot where contact occurs, however, one foot is in and one foot is out. A1 could not avoid contact. Contact is in the torso. Block or Charge? What rule are you using?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
We already know that NCAA doesn't look at "every player entitled to his spot on floor" the same as the NFHS does because in the NCAA a player lying prone on the floor is responsible for contact with a ball handler.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I can agree with this
Quote:
But to say a stationary defender never has to have LGP is not correct. In SOME instances it is required.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Contact with extended elbow | KCRef | Basketball | 1 | Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:18pm |
NFHS Points of Emphasis | Grail | Basketball | 18 | Tue May 30, 2006 06:19pm |
Contact with elbow | bseybs32 | Basketball | 14 | Wed Feb 08, 2006 01:40pm |
RE: NFHS 2005 Points Of Emphasis | whiskers_ump | Softball | 12 | Wed Oct 06, 2004 01:04pm |
Offensive player initiating contact with lead elbow | Paul Janssen | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 20, 2003 10:40pm |