The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 24, 2012, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
We actually had a situation similar to this at camp this past weekend. I was the L so I wasn't involved but the C went over to the T after the T called backourt on a deflection situation and told the T the defense was the last to touch before the ball went over. T changed, we moved on and the observer was happy.
What? The observer didnt want the C to wait for the T to ask

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
in regards to jrut question, i think the c thought there was going to be more pressure from the defensive player when the ball handler crossed halfcourt before he started moving towards the center of the court, so the c was anticipating having to move up and officiate that play.
Agreed, many times *we* try to show that we arent ball watching & miss plays high on the Cs side in transition. I think its good for the C to be fully aware of the ball & players in this situation & its okay if 4 eyes are on this play for a few seconds.
Where the C went wrong was not following the principles for calling in our 2ndary. He probably would've seen it better had he been actually trailing the play.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 24, 2012, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
What? The observer didn't want the C to wait for the T to ask
I think the observer would've run onto the court himself if the C didn't go on his own
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In a van down by the river, OK
Posts: 120
Gotta say that I really don't like the C making this call even though he had a pretty good look.

It looks like he got the play right. Once the left foot comes off the floor, the right foot is clearly in the front court. It appears that both the left foot and the ball are no longer in contact with the court which means that the player has established front court status.

As soon as the ball touches the division line a violation has occurred.

Please cite "3 points rule" that is not a shot. I could not find it.

ART. 1
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

ART. 2
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if *neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

ART. 3
A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 03:01pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
4-4-6, also known as the "three points" rule.

"During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt."

Per this rule, there is no violation on this play.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 03:28pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7IronRef View Post
Gotta say that I really don't like the C making this call even though he had a pretty good look.

It looks like he got the play right. Once the left foot comes off the floor, the right foot is clearly in the front court. It appears that both the left foot and the ball are no longer in contact with the court which means that the player has established front court status.

As soon as the ball touches the division line a violation has occurred.

Please cite "3 points rule" that is not a shot. I could not find it.

ART. 1
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

ART. 2
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if *neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

ART. 3
A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.
Nah, the C blew the call.

You won't find the term "3 points rule" formally state as such in the book because it's the informal/quick way of saying that when a dribbler is dribbling the ball from the backcourt to the frontcourt, the ball is not considered to be in the frontcourt until both feet (point 1 and point 2) and the ball (point 3) touch entirely in the frontcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 03:39pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Nah, the C blew the call.

You won't find the term "3 points rule" formally state as such in the book because it's the informal/quick way of saying that when a dribbler is dribbling the ball from the backcourt to the frontcourt, the ball is not considered to be in the frontcourt until both feet (point 1 and point 2) and the ball (point 3) touch entirely in the frontcourt.
Hmm I wonder which rule that would be?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If you were Lead and the C incorrectly called an out of bounds violation on the endline, what would you do?
I see this as the same as the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 06:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If you were Lead and the C incorrectly called an out of bounds violation on the endline, what would you do?
I see this as the same as the OP.
Had a T last season call an incorrect travel, right in front of me (2 whistle), when the shooter caught his airball. We fixed it together.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2012, 06:43pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7IronRef View Post
Gotta say that I really don't like the C making this call even though he had a pretty good look.

It looks like he got the play right. Once the left foot comes off the floor, the right foot is clearly in the front court. It appears that both the left foot and the ball are no longer in contact with the court which means that the player has established front court status.

As soon as the ball touches the division line a violation has occurred.

Please cite "3 points rule" that is not a shot. I could not find it.

ART. 1
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

ART. 2
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if *neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

ART. 3
A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.
Seriously?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7IronRef View Post
Gotta say that I really don't like the C making this call even though he had a pretty good look.

It looks like he got the play right. Once the left foot comes off the floor, the right foot is clearly in the front court. It appears that both the left foot and the ball are no longer in contact with the court which means that the player has established front court status.
No ... the left foot, off the floor, is NOT in the front court (until it hits the ground in the front court). Ditto the ball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7IronRef View Post
Once the left foot comes off the floor, the right foot is clearly in the front court. It appears that both the left foot and the ball are no longer in contact with the court which means that the player has established front court status.
Remember 4-35-3.

Quote:
ART. 3
The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct cford Basketball 15 Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am
I'm Not Sure This is Correct...Is It? OverAndBack Football 5 Fri Sep 12, 2008 05:17pm
which is correct.... JohnBark Basketball 2 Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:36am
did i do this correct? JohnBark Basketball 22 Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:22pm
How do you correct this??? Luv4Asian8 Basketball 27 Wed Feb 11, 2004 10:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1