![]() |
|
|
|||
you make the call
In a recent youth basketball game a young fella - reacting out of frustration, hauled off and kicked his defensive opponent in the face (please see video clip hereYou Make the Call - YouTube No call was made regarding such. How would you re-act to this issue and what would be your call - if you made a call at all?
|
|
|||
I don't see that "step" as losing his balance, or moving to another spot. But I'm not 100% (yet?) that is deliberate.
At minimum, I have a technical foul. If it was deliberate, then flagrant.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
This is not the act of some clumsy, underachieving, frustrated ball player. |
|
|||
Judging by the officials shorts, this looks like some off season ball. Never know what you're gonna get there when it comes to officiating, coaching & players alike.
BUT the L is wearing college wides so that makes me pay a bit more attention to him as it suggests he may have a college schedule. This video is great reinforcement of why we need to close down on held balls... especially in the paint. Not knowing whats happened up to this point in the game, the score seems to favor A1 & I wouldn't think he would be in frustration mode. It looks flagrant to me, I would like to believe I would use proper held ball procedures & not have to respond to this play as opposed to (the OPs question) reacting to it. It appears that the L was more concerned about his holding his perfect signal up high than using his voice while dead balling his call & I wonder what the T was looking at after the whistle. Curious, was this called a held ball & nothing more??
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Inadvertent ...
As much as I hate to "swim against the tide" of popular, and esteemed, opinion, I agree. Held ball. Pivot. Momentum. Inadvertent kick. After the play, it appears that he comes back to check on the kid on the floor.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 22, 2012 at 11:40am. |
|
|||
![]()
I originally posted the question re: the call. I took advice and sent to league director - who forwarded to his officiating director - an official who claims - and with great prideful vigor and a listing of his prolific credits as a D1 Women's Basketball official (no disrespect for such referees intended) - great experience etc. and thus patronized me with such. His response was much less than what I had hoped for. He, like Billymac did not see anything wrong with the incident - calling it, "purely a basketball play." I was obviously disappointed and totally disagree with his call on the matter. Too bad for all - the program, the boy who committed the infraction (who will not learn from it) and obviously the boy who received the kick in the face - along with his $5,000 worth of dental work. A case of protecting image of program and the officiating director's (I think highly of myself)
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
What's a "God complex" and what does it have to do with the officials in this game and missing a call (which I agree they missed)?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Immediate remorse. I just watched the video again and I have a hard time seeing that as anything but deliberate.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
I addressed that in my post. Showing remorse doesn't mean that the act didn't happened. You never did anything on purpose then immediately realized you were wrong?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Now that I've viewed it I would judge it a flagrant technical (judging held ball occurred first) despite the immediate remorse A1 is showing. I think he got frustrated and kicked his opponent and then realized what he did.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Apr 20, 2012 at 09:41am. |
|
|||
Video wasn't working when I posted originally. I've added on to my post.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You make the call! | BktBallRef | Basketball | 49 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:55am |
You Make The Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 21 | Sun Jan 05, 2003 07:48pm |
Make the call | tiger_tee | Football | 10 | Mon Dec 23, 2002 08:12pm |
Make the call | db | Softball | 5 | Mon Apr 16, 2001 02:55pm |
ASA make the call | oppool | Softball | 3 | Tue Feb 06, 2001 04:35pm |