The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quick Back court ruling/thoughts/answer

A1 is inbounding the ball from their own frontcourt. The inbound pass is high and A2 jumps from his frontcourt for it and it tips off his/her fingers and into A's backcourt where A3 retreats into the backcourt and gains control of the ball. Is this a violation?


Rule 9-9-1 states....

"A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt."

So in order for a violation to occur we need both player and team control. Do we have both in this situation?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call on the court = Held ball. Thoughts? JetMetFan Basketball 15 Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:18am
Back Court vs. Front Court. MagnusonX Basketball 72 Sun Oct 17, 2010 08:34am
Wrong ruling even back then! Nevadaref Basketball 5 Fri Nov 14, 2008 08:22pm
Quick over and back question lukealex Basketball 20 Mon May 23, 2005 04:03pm
Back court Steve_pa Basketball 3 Mon Feb 03, 2003 11:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1