The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 03:52pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
I think this play is similar but the biggest part that is missing is the division line is erased for the person who first touches it only. So I'm not so positive that the original OP is legal. Of course, I don't have my book in front of me now.
The bolded part of your statement is most definitely incorrect.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The bolded part of your statement is most definitely incorrect.
9.9.1 Situation D and E

The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 08:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
9.9.1 Situation D and E

The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball.
The throw-in exception applies to airborne players catching the ball which thus ends the throw-in AND establishes Player Control inbounds. The exception allows said airborne player to land in the BC though he had FC status when he initially established PC.

A tip does not constitute Player Control.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Ok....So I read through all your posts and I agree. Obviously we need player control and team control in order to have a bc violation correct?

Now according to 4-12-1 it says "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball"

And 6-1-2b says "the ball becomes live on a throw in when it is at the disposal of the thower"

So why isn't there player control as well as team control on this play? Why is it not back court? Rule references please
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 09:28pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
Ok....So I read through all your posts and I agree. Obviously we need player control and team control in order to have a bc violation correct?

Now according to 4-12-1 it says "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball"

And 6-1-2b says "the ball becomes live on a throw in when it is at the disposal of the thower"

So why isn't there player control as well as team control on this play? Why is it not back court? Rule references please
The player throwing the ball isn't considered in the frontcourt...the frontcourt is the inbound portion of the court.

Rule 4
SECTION 13 Court Areas
ART. 1 . . . A team’s frontcourt consists of that part of the court between its end line and the nearer edge of the division line, including its basket and the inbounds part of the backboard.

There must be player and team control in the frontcourt...meaning inbounds. When the player touches the ball inbounds in the frontcourt, there's team control in the frontcourt, but there's no player control in the frontcourt with the tip.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
ahhh.....thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 10:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The problem is, the addition of the PC in the FC requirement is a significant change from the rule last year.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The bolded part of your statement is most definitely incorrect.
I think (actually I hope) he is mistaking the following play for the OP!

9.9.1 SITUATION D:

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt.

RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A's frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-3)

If the defense tips the throw-in pass in the f/c then yes, the throw-in has ended & the ball has f/c status & the exception is off.

If the offense tips the throw-in pass, the throw-in has ended & even though t/c exists there is no player control yet & the exception is on.

9-9-3

During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!

Last edited by tref; Thu Apr 12, 2012 at 04:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Ah I'm too late

Maybe Toren will bring JR back on this one...
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call on the court = Held ball. Thoughts? JetMetFan Basketball 15 Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:18am
Back Court vs. Front Court. MagnusonX Basketball 72 Sun Oct 17, 2010 08:34am
Wrong ruling even back then! Nevadaref Basketball 5 Fri Nov 14, 2008 08:22pm
Quick over and back question lukealex Basketball 20 Mon May 23, 2005 04:03pm
Back court Steve_pa Basketball 3 Mon Feb 03, 2003 11:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1