![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
No violation on the OP play.
"You're absolutely right, coach... but there's an exception on throw-ins. I'll email you the rule along with the 3 seconds rule that you requested in the 1stQ."
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
The bolded part of your statement is most definitely incorrect.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A tip does not constitute Player Control.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Ok....So I read through all your posts and I agree. Obviously we need player control and team control in order to have a bc violation correct?
Now according to 4-12-1 it says "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball" And 6-1-2b says "the ball becomes live on a throw in when it is at the disposal of the thower" So why isn't there player control as well as team control on this play? Why is it not back court? Rule references please |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 4 SECTION 13 Court Areas ART. 1 . . . A team’s frontcourt consists of that part of the court between its end line and the nearer edge of the division line, including its basket and the inbounds part of the backboard. There must be player and team control in the frontcourt...meaning inbounds. When the player touches the ball inbounds in the frontcourt, there's team control in the frontcourt, but there's no player control in the frontcourt with the tip.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
9.9.1 SITUATION D: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A's frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-3) If the defense tips the throw-in pass in the f/c then yes, the throw-in has ended & the ball has f/c status & the exception is off. If the offense tips the throw-in pass, the throw-in has ended & even though t/c exists there is no player control yet & the exception is on. 9-9-3 During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Thu Apr 12, 2012 at 04:38pm. |
|
|||
|
But look at the rationale given...there must be team AND player control in the frontcourt...there's team control, but no player control in the frontcourt...thus no violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
9.9.1 Situation C A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourts: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. Ruling: in (a) it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the backcourt. Isn't this Ruling in this play completely opposite of the wording for the definition of a backcourt violation? The definition says we need player and team control in the frontcourt, and then this ruling we don't have that, we only have the last to touch first to touch ruling. If last to touch, first to touch ruling is enforced in this play, it appears it can be extended to the OP as well. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But of course the only reason why we know that the OP is not a BC is because the NFHS said the rule change only affects foul shooting in bonus. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Call on the court = Held ball. Thoughts? | JetMetFan | Basketball | 15 | Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:18am |
| Back Court vs. Front Court. | MagnusonX | Basketball | 72 | Sun Oct 17, 2010 08:34am |
| Wrong ruling even back then! | Nevadaref | Basketball | 5 | Fri Nov 14, 2008 08:22pm |
| Quick over and back question | lukealex | Basketball | 20 | Mon May 23, 2005 04:03pm |
| Back court | Steve_pa | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 03, 2003 11:19am |