The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2012, 05:08pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I have a PC by a hair.

The defender doesn't have LGP until after the gather -- which doesn't matter by rule -- though she has it just before the shooter goes airborne. Still, that's a tough call for the defender to come that far away without LGP and nail it at the last possible split-second.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
What is really baffling to me is why we are even discussing this play. By rule,. it is totally and clearly 100% a charge. Offensive player does not get head and shoulders by defender. She goes straight thru the torso. This is an amazingly easy call. There is NOTHING in the rule about "being set," "not moving," etc. And there is certainly no time or distance involved. Defender beats her to the spot and offensive player runs her over. Charge every time.

We officials really screw up the game when we call plays like this a block.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by drofficial View Post
What is really baffling to me is why we are even discussing this play. By rule,. it is totally and clearly 100% a charge. Offensive player does not get head and shoulders by defender. She goes straight thru the torso. This is an amazingly easy call. There is NOTHING in the rule about "being set," "not moving," etc. And there is certainly no time or distance involved. Defender beats her to the spot and offensive player runs her over. Charge every time.

We officials really screw up the game when we call plays like this a block.
I thought the offense had to get head & shoulders by the primary defender
Pretty tough to get by someone whos not there to get by .
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by drofficial View Post
What is really baffling to me is why we are even discussing this play. By rule,. it is totally and clearly 100% a charge. Offensive player does not get head and shoulders by defender. She goes straight thru the torso. This is an amazingly easy call. There is NOTHING in the rule about "being set," "not moving," etc. And there is certainly no time or distance involved. Defender beats her to the spot and offensive player runs her over. Charge every time.

We officials really screw up the game when we call plays like this a block.
The offensive and defensive players are coming from 2 totally different angles and then there is contact at point A. So I'm seeing the defensive player impeding on the offensive player's path to the basket without first maintaining LGP. Therefore I have a block.

Has nothing to do with 'not being set' or 'not moving'. It's all about not having LGP prior to the contact, IMHO.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
The offensive and defensive players are coming from 2 totally different angles and then there is contact at point A. So I'm seeing the defensive player impeding on the offensive player's path to the basket without first maintaining LGP. Therefore I have a block.

Has nothing to do with 'not being set' or 'not moving'. It's all about not having LGP prior to the contact, IMHO.
Thats how I see this play as well, she cant maintain what she never obtained... by rule.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:13am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
The offensive and defensive players are coming from 2 totally different angles and then there is contact at point A. So I'm seeing the defensive player impeding on the offensive player's path to the basket without first maintaining LGP. Therefore I have a block.

Has nothing to do with 'not being set' or 'not moving'. It's all about not having LGP prior to the contact, IMHO.
I've been fascinated to read all the different opinions of this play, even in slow motion. I have a defender, with established LGP, moving backwards and to her right (obliquely, not towards the shooter), and getting hit in the chest by the dribbler. To me, it's a pretty solid PC foul, but the disagreement is still fascinating to me.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I've been fascinated to read all the different opinions of this play, even in slow motion. I have a defender, with established LGP, moving backwards and to her right (obliquely, not towards the shooter), and getting hit in the chest by the dribbler. To me, it's a pretty solid PC foul, but the disagreement is still fascinating to me.
I'm willing to give it another look. At what time is LGP obtained?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:21am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I'm willing to give it another look. At what time is LGP obtained?
I initially had her with LGP from the start, but with a more narrow view of "in the path," I can see why you'd say she didn't have it that long. Either way, I have her, at the latest, getting LGP right before contact in her chest.

And I still say the extended trail leg is irrelevant unless it's the point of contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I'm willing to give it another look. At what time is LGP obtained?
As I said earlier, she didn't, IMO.

The "path" goes through "the block". To obtain LGP after sliding in front of the shooter, she must have two feet on the floor while having her torso (not just a foot) over the block. She puts her right foot on the block and is still coming into position. She lifts her left foot in order to shift her torso into the path and never gets it back to the floor before contact....no LGP.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 01:35pm
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
I do not officiate women's basketball, but I have a block and don't see it being close.

On another topic, Is the outside official supposed to make this call? I have seen lots of women's officials make this call from the outside so I'm curious if the mechanic/primary coverage is different. It seems like a difficult playcalling sequence coming from the outside official on a secondary defender.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 01:43pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
I do not officiate women's basketball, but I have a block and don't see it being close.

On another topic, Is the outside official supposed to make this call? I have seen lots of women's officials make this call from the outside so I'm curious if the mechanic/primary coverage is different. It seems like a difficult playcalling sequence coming from the outside official on a secondary defender.
Yes this call should come from the C - who happens to be in a terrible position on this play. And it's not a secondary defender - there was never any other defender to be a "primary defender" who got beat. So the C should have this call as the drive originated in his primary.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Yes this call should come from the C - who happens to be in a terrible position on this play. And it's not a secondary defender - there was never any other defender to be a "primary defender" who got beat. So the C should have this call as the drive originated in his primary.
Rocky, I don't think DeMayo's (the C) positioning is that bad because part of his job on that play was to follow/stay even with the ball as it came up court, which he did.

When he made the call he looked to be about 3-4' above the FT line extended - not ideal but I'm guessing that's where he felt he had to stop to be able to see the dribbler.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2012, 05:43pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post

This particular block/charge was very very close and the drive started from the C's PCA therefore it is his call. That said, the C was pretty much where he should havd been, I would have liked to see him close down as the offensive player drove to the basket, meaning that I don't think he was in the best position to officiate the defense and the L was somewhat straight-lined too, leaving the least likely of the three, the T, with possiblly the best angle to see that this was a charge.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Thu Apr 12, 2012 at 05:45pm. Reason: Rewrote the second sentence.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call on the court = Play on. Doris Burke agreed. What's your opinion? JetMetFan Basketball 33 Sat Apr 07, 2012 09:33pm
Block, Charge or No Call Indianaref Basketball 57 Thu May 13, 2010 03:30pm
Opinion on interference call eppyjerk Softball 4 Sun Mar 30, 2008 04:05pm
Block, Charge or No call cingram Basketball 7 Wed Jun 02, 2004 08:09am
strange block call in NIT Nevadaref Basketball 1 Thu Mar 20, 2003 02:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1