The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2012, 06:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckrefguy View Post
Bang-bang play - but she slid in at the last split-second, I thought.
The left foot looks like it might be moving, but she already had LGP and I don't think her body is moving into the shooter.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2012, 06:14pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckrefguy View Post
Bang-bang play - but she slid in at the last split-second, I thought.
If that is the case, it must have been so slight that no one could tell. I always give the benefit of the doubt to the defense. No one is going to be perfectly still.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2012, 06:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrutledge View Post
if that is the case, it must have been so slight that no one could tell. I always give the benefit of the doubt to the defense. No one is going to be perfectly still.

Peace
+1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2012, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7IronRef View Post
I'll give the L the benefit of the doubt. This is a difficult angle, it looks like the defender took the contact more on the left side rather than textbook torso to torso.
There is no part of the rule that says that has any relevance. If the defender is in the path and the shooter diverts to the side just a bit such that the contact is off center, that doesn't negate LGP.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2012, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 52
The lead should never have made this call out of his PCA and he was wrong--it should have been a player control foul and the C should have called it!
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 31, 2012, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,170
Charge, and frankly, not that close. However, the camera has a better angle than either C or L. C in their regular position would be straightlined, so L taking this call is fine, even though he doesn't have a much better angle.

Before anyone says block, please describe what the defender did that was illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 01:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
C in their regular position would be straightlined, so L taking this call is fine, even though he doesn't have a much better angle.
Aggie, I'll respectfully disagree. That play is in the C's primary and she's in the correct position. She really doesn't appear to be straightlined. Maybe the contact surprised her but if it did, it shouldn't have because she should have anticipated the play if not the contact.

On another front: what gets me is the C didn't even blow her whistle. Yes, the L came in fast when he shouldn't have but the C didn't even pull the trigger. Again, maybe it was a case of being surprised by the contact.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 02:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
I've got a charge. I've looked at it several times and can't see anything but.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 10:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,345
Again, a Lead who fails to close down and pinch the paint and then makes an incorrect block/charge call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsox34 View Post
The lead should never have made this call out of his PCA and he was wrong--it should have been a player control foul and the C should have called it!
Agreed.

Perhaps the L was so quick with his whistle and preliminary signal, the C chose to withhold (swallow) his/her own.
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Again, a Lead who fails to close down and pinch the paint and then makes an incorrect block/charge call.
BNR I don't think pinching the paint is an issue. To me, you pinch the paint to get a good look at a drive coming down the lane. This play was still very much in the C's PCA.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 08:42pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
BNR I don't think pinching the paint is an issue. To me, you pinch the paint to get a good look at a drive coming down the lane. This play was still very much in the C's PCA.
It's just that we've recently had 2 plays posted where the Lead got a block/charge wrong and in both cases the Lead was way out of postion to even get a good look as a secondary on the play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2012, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It's just that we've recently had 2 plays posted where the Lead got a block/charge wrong and in both cases the Lead was way out of postion to even get a good look as a secondary on the play.
True, but this to me is a "leave it alone because it's right in front of the C" issue more than a a help issue. The C shouldn't need help on this.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2012, 09:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
True, but this to me is a "leave it alone because it's right in front of the C" issue more than a a help issue. The C shouldn't need help on this.
She shouldn't, but if she did, the Lead is in no position to give legitimate help. He's just guessing b/c he never got himself back over to where he could see the play.

When I watch these clips and I feel the officials got the play wrong the next thing I do is replay it to see where the officials (the entire crew) were positioned. A vast majority of the time I find incorrect calls are accompanied by incorrect positioning.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Apr 02, 2012 at 09:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2012, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Off topic, but female ref was gorgeous, slim New York runway model material.

That said, I think she was over her head with this game
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block, Charge or No Call Indianaref Basketball 57 Thu May 13, 2010 03:30pm
Block? Charge? No call? Clark Kent Basketball 53 Mon Jan 25, 2010 03:25pm
Block/Charge/No Call djskinn Basketball 35 Sun Oct 18, 2009 07:31pm
Block/Charge/No Call hbioteach Basketball 8 Fri Dec 03, 2004 03:32pm
Block, Charge or No call cingram Basketball 7 Wed Jun 02, 2004 08:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1