The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2012, 07:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Many, many years ago, the ruling would be violation on A1 for not completing a legal throwin, and the ball would go to B at the spot of the original throwin. This very old, and now changed, interpretation may explain the confusion among some of the more "experienced" officials. This myth will probably "hang around" until all of us more "experienced" officials are dead, not that I'm volunteering for anything soon.
Billy, this happened in an NCAA game. And even though the rule is the same for NCAA-M and NCAA-W, Men's side is going with one interpretation and Women's side with the opposite. So it's not about myths. It's about a rule that is not clearly written and has no case play to guide us.

BTW, I'm agree with Nevada and NCAA-W, it should go to spot where the ball was caught since the thrower is not who violated.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2012, 07:44am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
The problem with the NCAA rule is that it specifically says that the thrower-in must pass the ball so that it is touched by a player on the "playing court", which in Rule 4 is defined as the inbounds portion of the playing surface.

So, even though I don't like the rule, I think Mr. Hyland is interpreting it correctly.

IMHO, the NCAA should just change their rule to read the same as the NFHS rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in question; when can the thrower legally touch the ball again? RefLarry Basketball 3 Sun Oct 31, 2010 03:11pm
Legally Equipped? Why Do We Ask? Spence Basketball 62 Thu Oct 28, 2010 01:40pm
BU/ISU Game 1/31 - Baseline inbounds throw hits backboard AE Braves Fan Basketball 5 Sun Feb 01, 2009 01:35pm
Legally leaving the court.... ronny mulkey Basketball 16 Sat Dec 17, 2005 03:16pm
FP - Runners advance legally? DaNewGuy Softball 3 Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1